Here We Go...


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Providencia
March 21st 2007
Published: March 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

FireFireFire

Sometimes even tourists stumble upon something cool.
So here I am, after far too much neglect of affection towards the computer (i.e. blogging. South America has a way of separating you from the internet). But as I have a hard time with structure as it is, I will try my honest best to keep this updated! I can´t thank you enough for caring enough to read about me life! I´ll try to keep it spicy for ya!

So the basics: here I find myself living in the heart of Santiago, Chile, in my first appartment with a 27 year old interior designer named Carolina. She keeps me on my toes with spanish (she doesn´t speak english), and in return I unleash all my domestic instincts (aka. cooking, entertaining, lighting candles...) that have been boiling inside me after 2.5 years in a dorm room.

I take classes here, some lovely token intro-to-literature overviews that fit my life perfectly, as I am not really here to get the rigorous academic experience Richmond has to offer (shhhh).

Every Chilean I talk to seems to have two questions: why Chile? I tell them the truth: I heard from numerous world travelers that Chile was the most beautiful country in the world. And it has proven to be true, even though I haven´t seen half of it. The next is: Do you like Chile? I must say that I dont have to put on an act or stretch the truth to convince them that I am absolutely in love with this country.

Carolina´s family lives about 2 hours away, and have taken me in. One weekend I went to their home in Rancagua and spent the weekend chomping on fresh food and trying desperately to understand Chilean spanish (which, as I have discovered, is faster, more slurred, and filled with random slang to the point that even other spanish speakers can´t understand them. When mental exhaustion sets in, I simply mimic the facial expressions of the speaker--laugh when they laugh, look interested when they´re serious, say âhhyy siii, when it sounds like they´ve just hit a punchline. It´s an uncanny life skill I feel everyone should possess.).

I´ve been feeling like such the big girl navigating this 6 million person city all by myself. Today, for example, I took the metro to the international police station accross town to get my visa registered (required within the first
Dry IceDry IceDry Ice

Descending into Santiago the first day. Me equals face plastered to dirty window.
30 days of entry). I found the building, the right line, took a number, then interviewed in spanish and turned in all the necessary paperwork. Then I scampered again across town to the Registro Civil (basically the Chilean DMV) where I had to use a little batting of the American blue eyes to escape without a 3 hour wait (I swear! I only pull out the blue eyes trick when I absolutely have to! It was also accompanied by the fake engagement ring...). Afterwards, I felt so proud of myself, hello independent woman. Now, if I could only figure out how to work the copy machine at school . . .

Here, I will include pictures, as they tell far more words than this keyboard does (by the way, did I mention that I think foreign keyboards are the devil´s curse to travelers?).




Additional photos below
Photos: 60, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

PrettyPretty
Pretty

No matter how old I am, I think I´ll never see a sight more breathtaking than the view from an airplane.
ArgentinaArgentina
Argentina

A trip to the south of Chile. Threw me for a loop to see Argentina, this way, on a street sign.
CarolinaCarolina
Carolina

My roommate in Pucon. Her family took me to their cabin about 10 hours south of Santiago. Absolutely breathtaking.
GloryGlory
Glory

Covering the walls
Can you say, aggressive anti smoking campaign?Can you say, aggressive anti smoking campaign?
Can you say, aggressive anti smoking campaign?

Translation: These cigarettes are KILLING YOU. On the other side: Picture of Don Miguel, who lost his voicebox to cancer. The best part was the top, where it says ^lucky strike, an American Original. Proud to represent the best.
I love you I love you
I love you

I love you skype. This is from the hotel room on the first day I arrived. Crazy how distances are completely eliminated with the internet and the beloved wifi.
Sinfonia de coloresSinfonia de colores
Sinfonia de colores

Vegetables and fruits here are cheaper than dirt. And they taste amazing. Leaves lots of room to insert colorful creativity in the way I nourish my body.
FloraFlora
Flora

I swear, they make the colors brighter down here.
AvejaAveja
Aveja

What Id be doing if I were an insect.
VillaricaVillarica
Villarica

Active volcano Villarica in the South of Chile. A little disconcerting? At night, you can see the light coming up out of the crater of the volcano.
Long timeLong time
Long time

Long trips are worth it.
A new verbA new verb
A new verb

Family is a verb here, I swear. And Eat is a proper noun.
Volcanic fun!Volcanic fun!
Volcanic fun!

Sand made of volcanic rock. After I got up and there was sand in my clothes, I realized there was...cooled lava in my pants. Hmph.
Roomie and meRoomie and me
Roomie and me

Carolina, me, and the Villarica Volcano.
ClamboringClamboring
Clamboring

Clamboring over rock formations of cooled lava.
I salute youI salute you
I salute you

I salute you, German influence in Chile. You are the cause of these amazing rows of picturesque houses skirting the majestic mountains.
Carolina´s FamilyCarolina´s Family
Carolina´s Family

Carolinas family, aka my hookup to sweet chilean culture.


22nd March 2007

Chile
I like your blog. Keep taking nice pictures. Enjoy your time abroad!!
22nd March 2007

Congratulations
I stumbled upon your blog... well, I was looking at Chile because I miss it so much and happened to read yours. Good luck to you in your new life in Chile. My 2 years there were some of my best and reading your blog reminding me of so much. I am currently living in Honduras and have so much trouble changing all my words from the Chilean ones I learned to ones they might understand here! It is a challenge but it is worth it, once you can speak Chilean you can speak any Spanish! Good luck and enjoy every moment, Kari
23rd March 2007

marvellous...
L really amazed by your story, it is really motivated and interesting .....hope u can bring more amazing travel story ..what u see and hear to us... p.s what a beautiful pic to see
25th March 2007

chileout?
holaa diana, espero estes bien. mira con la sorpresa que me encuentro. puse chileout en la intranet y apareciste tu. talvez pdrias ser socia de chileout. sitio y empresa que algun dia lanzaremos. oye no tengo tu numero de telefono..si puedes llamame para que salgamos a alguna parte. mi numero..9-128 79 06 suerte..seeyou. cocho.cristobal.
27th March 2007

La Cueca Rapida
Hola! I love your blog so far, and since there's just one I will be eagerly anticipating the next entry. Are you from California too? I said the same thing on my visit to Chile (see my blog post) "Who needs California?!" Best thing of all, you take tons of pictures which I love. I just wish they enlarged bigger? Im returning to Chile in less than 2 weeks- 10 days in PN Torres del Paine, then 3 days in Santiago to party with friends; see Termas Colinas and Cajon de Maipo; Zapallar, Vina, Valpo and Quintay!! I can't wait. Realize Im jealous of you, because you are living there and I am living in California. *sigh, I guess Ill live vicariously through your blogs!!
28th March 2007

well done!
i love your blog! more! more! more! :-)
11th April 2007

My Beautiful Andi
andi, my heart is with you! you are so beautiful and i enjoy seeing you totally in your element. continue to enjoy each of the beautiful things God has made for you to enjoy :) you are definately missed!
12th April 2007

my heart is joyful for you
ok, so to be honest. i had NO [absolutely zero] idea that you were going to be spending a sem in chile. saweet way way way excited for you! i can see that you are absolutely enjoying every bit of this. continue to enjoy each moment and absorb and learn as much as you can so that when you come back you can give and give. love you dearheart.

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb