La muerte en sus huesos & PICTURES


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Los Ríos » Valdivia
June 5th 2008
Published: June 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

CopihueCopihueCopihue

The national flower. Chileans are very proud of their national treasures, and this is at the top of the list.
The first time I encountered a musical micro was probably in my second week here in Valdivia. Still shell-shocked that "Oh my gawd, yes, they do all speak Spanish all the time" and attempting to overcome the immense language barrier that high-school Spanish classes had not sufficiently equipped me to handle, I was constantly exhausted. Still fresh meat, however, I was also awed by Everything. Even the machistas, which, by now, is just old. But there I was, riding the 4 or 5 back to el Regional when these two college-age Bob Marley-esque characters wander onto the bus with a ukelele and a bongo. They sit down in the seats and subsequently begin to play. It's spectacular stuff (for the most part) even when you don't know what they're saying. They played through a few songs before calling it quits, announcing a show at some locale, and humbly accepting any tips we might feel inclined to give. Seeing as they get free bus fare when they play, I'm not too generous handing out my few precious pesos. The average tip is about 200 pesos, which is just $.50 I don't have to spend on a whim. (Stingy, huh?)

The first
Planeride ViewPlaneride ViewPlaneride View

There's probably a volcano smushed in there somewhere. This was one time I was more than glad that we had clear skies during the flight.
time it occurred, I thought these kids were kind of cool and innovative, jumping on a bus and playing for a random audience. I wasn't disappointed, though, when I discovered it was a mildly regular occurrence on the Chilean transit system. Apparently it also happens in Santiago, along with any town possessing a sizable intercity bus route. Amazing stuff. The first time I was lucky enough to have my State-side phone with me, and I whipped it out for a fairly decent sound-recording. And the thing about Chileans is that they all -with the exception of one I have met- sing like full-body belting angels. It's remarkable. Whatever genetic trait that they all seem to have acquired, it works. Alas, it does make karaoke altogether much less interesting, but if you can live without the drunken hollering, you'll do just fine in Chile.

These are pictures of my journeys here in Chile, graciously, unknowingly provided by some of my good friends and Facebook. Please enjoy, and look forward to more. This month, I am going to Puerto Varas, Frutillar, Barriloche (Argentina), and Santiago! (Literally, I won't be in town a single weekend this month except for this past one,
NieblaNieblaNiebla

Our first day in Valdivia. (March 28, 2008) My first view of the Pacific Ocean
and I was working at Un Techo during the days. Crazy!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

ValdiviaValdivia
Valdivia

A view of one of Valdivia's rivers from el Parque Botanico right behind the University on Isla Teja.
Valdivia 2Valdivia 2
Valdivia 2

This is the downtown skyline of Valdivia from across one of its three rivers. Probably taken at the MAC.
Chiloe CrossingChiloe Crossing
Chiloe Crossing

On the ferry crossing over to Chiloe. April 10, 2008, my last day as a spry young thing.
AncudAncud
Ancud

This is a tower still remaining right near the coastline in Ancud, located on the island of Chiloe. It's situated right in the middle of the museum, next to an entire blue whale skeleton.
Isla LumayIsla Lumay
Isla Lumay

A ferry ride over from Chonchi, one of the most "vacan" little towns Chiloe has to offer, is this view. And a long walk. With some really, REALLY good tomato salsa waiting with a giant plate of Curranto at the restaurant near the shore.
Un Techo Para ChileUn Techo Para Chile
Un Techo Para Chile

Some of the people I worked with my first time working with Un Techo Para Chile. We're a ragged bunch, but that's what happens after three days building wooden houses in mud and rain. Time for a shower!
Chile-UndefinedChile-Undefined
Chile-Undefined

I don't know where or when this picture was taken, but it's a rather generic view of Chilean countryside. Gorgeous stuff.
PuconPucon
Pucon

Posing in the town of Pucon at the base of Volcan Villarrica.
Volcan VillarricaVolcan Villarrica
Volcan Villarrica

We were really lucky to be there on a day when it wasn't cloudy up near the peak. After all, with a volcano that's constantly erupting ash, it tends to get a bit hazy.
Ojos del CaburgaOjos del Caburga
Ojos del Caburga

Some spectacular waterfalls in a park outside of Pucon.
Mapuche VillageMapuche Village
Mapuche Village

The lot of us gathered in front of a traditional Mapuche home. We ate some DELICIOUS FRIED FOOD there. And suffered a moral dilemma over a sweet pooch without a home.
Gringos GaloreGringos Galore
Gringos Galore

Here are two Michiganites (the mitten), one Chilean, and I, hanging out at El Bunker, a pub on Isla Teja.
ConaripeConaripe
Conaripe

The view from a friend's cabin in Conaripe. I only wish I'd gotten a picture of the black sand beach/lake created by volcanic lava flow. (Conaripe is on the other side of Volcan Villarrica from Pucon.)
ChileansChileans
Chileans

Some of our Chilean friends at the cabin in Conaripe. What a great weekend!
Conaripe-esqueConaripe-esque
Conaripe-esque

Apparently this photo was taken in Huilo-Huilo, but to me it looks exactly like the landscape in Conaripe. Mountains/volcanoes, huge drop-offs, and waterfalls.


Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb