Cochamó Valley


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Los Lagos » Ensenada
March 6th 2007
Published: March 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After parting ways with David, who headed north to hike Volcán Lanín, I ended up heading toward Cochamó Valley, which is fast becoming a mecca for climbers. The valley is known as the Yosemite of South America for it´s granite batholiths that rim it´s edges. Because it remains icefree for much of the year, it´s gaining popularily among international climbers, partially to the hard work of Daniel and Silvina, a Nevada-Argentine pair who own a refugio in the heart of the valley.

On the second day up there I day hiked up a recently constructed trail for better views. While lunching on a granite outcrop high above the valley I was treated to a pair of condors that for about 20 minutes soared just under me, giving me a great look at their enormous wingspans.

On the third day however, I decided to hike out, which involved walking for four hours in the rain. This is when I learned that my Goretex shoes were now waterproof, except at the seams. And my nylon pants, they didn´t even last an hour. Needless to say, I was drenched when I reached the bottom and then proceed to slip crossing a very small stream and fall flat out horizontal in two feet of water, pack and all. I soon found a small barn to rest in and the owner nursed back my spirits with warm beer and doughnuts.

Yes, I think after backpacking for the last month and half I´m finally ready for something else. Maybe it´s because I have this inate need to leave a little part of me where ever I go, be it my sweater in Buenos Aires, my watch at the Hielo Azul glacier, or my trekking poles in the back of Daniel´s pickup. What ever the next stage is, I hope it involves daily bathing. Yes, daily.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

La JuntaLa Junta
La Junta

This is where I camped out for a few nights.
cable crossingcable crossing
cable crossing

The view from a cable car constructed to cross the river.
Cochamó ValleyCochamó Valley
Cochamó Valley

Now you can see why it´s known as the Yosemite of South America!
the smiling familythe smiling family
the smiling family

Daniel, from Nevada, and Silvina, from BA, keep this beautiful place running when not running after their son, Zen.


Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb