Mi Casa


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Atacama » Copiapó
August 2nd 2008
Published: August 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

mi casami casami casa

thats at the front door... it extends out to the left and to the right theres an enclosed courtyard where the laundry and stuff hangs to dry. and behind that theres the part of the house that the grandparents live in. I'm staying in a big room on top (the curtained window there) right now.

pics!


Just a few pictures of around the house, as promised!

"there is no better or worse, only different" -YFU


In case it isn’t evident... I’m having a great time! And so far I’ve found I only really miss three things (aside from you all and my pets in the states of course);
-milk... here the milk tastes kinda funny. it’s not too bad but I miss organic milk from home in the states
-rain... there isn't any. and it’s very very dusty (it reminds me of the county fair)
-poetry... it’s a bit frustrating not to be able to write, but I can’t because my mind is mixed up... I think half in English half in Spanish and I dream mostly in Spanish now and it’s all pretty confusing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

JoacovaJoacova
Joacova

this is the little indoor dog
Vicious Guard DogsVicious Guard Dogs
Vicious Guard Dogs

Cleo and Nutella looking quite dangerous there snoozing in the sun
EntrywayEntryway
Entryway

what you see when you come in the front door...
Dining RoomDining Room
Dining Room

which we never actually use for dining... mainly to put things on and sometimes do homework or work at.
LivingroomLivingroom
Livingroom

(where the karaoke happens!)
HallwayHallway
Hallway

bedrooms and a bathroom on one side and windows and doors to the back yard on the other... I'll be staying in the first bedroom when my brother goes back to university.
StaircaseStaircase
Staircase

the cool spiral staircase that leads up to the upstairs room!
UpstairsUpstairs
Upstairs

Thats the bed I'm sleeping in right now. There are three beds, a big closet, a TV and a bathroom up here. I was sharing the room with Cony and Pel but they've both gone back to Santiago.
YardYard
Yard

part of the biiiiig backyard. with Nutella in it.
"eeeen la cocina...""eeeen la cocina..."
"eeeen la cocina..."

looking into the kitchen (you can only see half of it here.... to the right theres a little table in front of a big window where we eat meals) we sort of eat in shifts, around the same general time... whoever is at the house and hungry around mealtimes sits down together. (and thats Nána washing dishes)


2nd August 2008

nice house!
It's great to see where you are living... I like having those pictures in my head when I think about you now! Looks very open and bright and airy - you will feel claustrophobic when you get home to small rooms and trees! And rain. Just had a little thunderstorm and downpour... it just stopped, now everything is cooler and greener and drippy.
5th August 2008

little rooms and trees
yes actually I´m a bit worried about that, because I´m getting very used to the HUGE open sky here... especially at night, its incredible... you feel like you can see every single star! I´m going to feel so boxed in under trees and what not when i come home!
5th August 2008

Wow!
Nice Tammy! What a cool house, would be great to see more pics of the view you describe too (hint hint)....:0) I'm in Punta Arenas right now, quite the opposite of desert, lots of slush and snow and really cold and damp......Stian and I both send hugs!
7th August 2008

re:Wow!
thanks! hopefully I'll get some up here soon... but it's hard to capture it all in a photo... you'll just have to come visit me here! I'll try to put together some pics of the view and town and whatnot though so people can get an idea of what it's like here. eeew slush and snow? >.< it's pretty cold here in the mornings and nights and thats about all the cold I can handle... i feel very glad i'm in the desert when i see the words "cold" and "damp"! hugs back to you and Stian! :) p.s. I'm serious about visiting me here if you happen to venture north!

Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0789s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb