10 days I will never forget


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Arica & Parinacota » Arica
July 16th 2009
Published: July 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hola a todos! So I made it home safely last night from my wild adventure of a viaje with my friend Francisco (and new friend Pablo).

I have enough memories, stories, fotos, and observations to fill your mind for hours, but for the sake of avoiding carpal tunnel and saving some stories for tea time in person, i'll do a quick (keep in mind I am still Amy, so quick=half a novel) recap and attempt to select just the highlights in pictures.

3 de Julio-Viernes- Flew to Santiago Chile, Met up with Francisco, walked around Chile's capital all day/night. Saw Plaza de Armas, la Moneda (presidents house), Cerro Santa Lucia, Barrio Bohemio y Bella Vista. Returned to Pancho's home in Machali

4/5 de Julio-Fin de Semana- Happy birthday USA!!-Spent the weekend with Pancho in his house, meeting his friends and family

6 de Julio-Lunes- "Toured" Rancagua...nearest bigger city to Machali, Saw Cerro San Juan, Cemeterio where the Vampiro is burried, and Plaza de Heroes--Then headed to Santiago to take a bus to argentina

>>>Got there at night, and there were NO buses because it's winter. sooo.. we spent an hour calling everyone we knew in Santiago to find a place to crash for 8 hours...contemplated the hospital when no one answered but finally got through to his friend pablo, who ended up joining us on our adventure at the last minute<<<

7 de Julio-Martes- Left for Mendoza Argentina in the morning, walked around the city all afternoon/evening (saw Plaza San Martin y Independencia) and hopped on a bus to Buenos Aires

8 de Julio-Miercoles- Toured Buenos Aires, walked downtown, saw VICTOR!! (best friend from Arica from last year), used the Subte (sub system), saw Plaza Mayo, la Catedral, la Casa Rosada (capital building), Obelisco.... Left at 11pm in a bus for Uruguay

9 de Julio-Jueves-Walked around Montevideo (capitol) for the day, saw the centro, monuments and the arena of the first world cup..Then hopped on yet another bus to Punta Del Este!!

9/10 de Julio-spent two days in Punta del este (pancho's goal destination all along), saw la mano, all the beaches, tried to go to the island but boats weren't running because there weren't enough people, saw sea lions, and walked through the centro shopping/eating/browsing for hours.... it's the prime celebrity destination, the hotel Conrad is there and we had an adventure staying overnight in "el puente de este, en frente del conrad"...hahha.. oh the memories...Headed back to buenos aires by bus the night of the 10th

11 de Julio-Sabado-Spent more time in buenos aires, ate at an all you can eat buffet (tenedor libre).. it was nice after skimming by on bus food the whole week....headed back to santiago that evening...

12 de julio--domingo- We arrived mid day back in santiago and headed home to machali to rest

13 de julio-lunes- I headed sola to Vina del Mar and Valparaiso, two very well known, important Chilean cities about 2 hours from santiago.. I took a tour there all day and got to see la laguna sausalito next to the stadium, museo fonck, palacio rioja, palacioi vergara/quinta vergara, reloj de flores, the beautiful beaches, the congreso de CHILE, one of Pablo Neruda's houses, plaza sotomayor/los heroes, rode up a trolley elevator and got to see the entire city from on top of the cerro.... beautiful cities...... returned home that night for my goodbye outing with pancho and nikky

14 de julio- took a bus home to arica.... 29 hours. fun. haha

And now, I'm home... it's a long weekend, im doing laundry and catching up on life. I'm planning to have a few open screen printing workshops at the university this next week, they have finished classes now so people have more time 😊

Can't believe my time is almost over.... I've thought alot about my life and the opportunities i've had the last few years. It seems like everytime I go out of the country I come back with resistance but always say I need to take a year off to save money and there is no way I can top the experience that I've had. But somehow I've managed to out-do myself every year... new adventures come my way, and all I can do is sit back give thanks, and acknowledge that I am blessed as I soak it all in. Thank you everyone who is reading this. You have played a role in supporting and loving me in my journies. My life is richer because I know you.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

la casa rosadala casa rosada
la casa rosada

(the buenos aires version of the white house, but it's pink...)


16th July 2009

RE-DONK-U-LOUS
Amy, that looks like an awesome trip! I must admit...I'm pretty jealous right here. I'm rotting away at my computer and you're out there seeing the world :-). I need to get rich so I can retire and just follow you around for a few months...
16th July 2009

AWESOME
What a lucky girl! Que bueno que te haya ido tan bien! parece que te divertiste harto :D lindas fotos! nos vemos!
17th July 2009

Excellent travels!
Amy, Wow...such adventures and fun. It will make life back home seem a little calm....but enjoy every minute of what remains!!!

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb