Back to school


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Araucanía » Villarrica
March 6th 2006
Published: March 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Monday, 6th of March. It is the first day of school for Chilian children...Uniforms have moved from the shops to the pupils shoulders...It feels like early September...but it is early March, yesterday I was wearing shorts and I forgot to put sunblock on my legs...conclusion sunburns!!!!Yes guys, it is still summer here...but as I was a bit frustrated not having seen snow for a long time (unlike you !)I went two days ago, when I was in Pucón, climbing a volcano (volcan Villarrica 2848m) covered by snow and ice... nice hike-from 1800m and a slide downhill which makes the way down significantly faster than the way up- and of course, nice landscape from the top of the highest summit of the area.

It is almost a week I have been in Chile. The lake Region is slightly different from the argentinian one: less mountaineous but with volcanoes and german colonies! Earlier today I was "invited" in a "confiteria/chocolateria" and when I entered the TV was in German! Hotels and Bars have german names and architecture a kind of German touch. Landscapes are really beautiful with lakes and domes of active volcanoes...Frutillar bajo for that is quiet amasing: it is a
Puerto Varas and VolcanoPuerto Varas and VolcanoPuerto Varas and Volcano

Because of the clouds, it seems there is nothing on the other side of the lake and then when clouds are gone...
small village along Llanquihue lake. The place is quiet...even quieter as it is the end of the holydays season here. The village is made of wooden houses (German style according to what I heard), and suddenly when clouds are hunted by the sun, the Osorno volcano appears on the other shore of the lake...unique.

But I continue my way North...as I take a bus tonight to Santiago. Don't know if I will stay there or go directly to Mendoza, will see. I am almost at the half of my "travel". I left Europe two months ago! It is hard to believe as it seems to be yesterday. On the other hand I have seen so many things and met so many different poeple that I feel like I am here for ages....and I still have so many things to do and see in the next 2 months...but now it is a countdown (a final one for Europe ;-))


C'est aujourd'hui la rentree des classes en effet, au Chili et cela remplit les rues d'enfants en uniformes (apres en avoir rempli les vitrines de ces memes uniformes!). Ca a un petit parfum de Septembre... Mais bon j'etais en
Frutillar city hall...Frutillar city hall...Frutillar city hall...

We can make a lounge bar out of it
bermuda hier et faute de creme solaire sur les jambes, aujourd'hui, c'est biafine! Et oui, c'est debut Mars, c'est l'ete et il fait beau. Mais, par solidarite avec ces pauvres Europeens qui sont sous la neige, je suis alle escalader un volcan (le Villarrica 2848m) aux pentes enneigees. Jolie balade avec une denivelee de 1000 metres, une vue panoramique sur toute la region, un cratere qui crache de la fumee et qui glougloute, et une glissade de 1000m pour redescendre, ce qui rend cette partie nettement plus rapide que la montee!

He oui, presque une semaine que je suis de retour au Chili. La region des lacs ici est un peu differente de sa contrepartie argentine: moins montagneuse et plus volcanique. A Puerto Varas, on me disait qu'il pleuvait pres de 220 jours par ans (merci les Andes)...donc, c'est vert! Et puis il y a les lacs et des couchers de soleils avec en fond un volcan avec sa collerette de neige: Oui c'est beau! Et puis c'est un peu allemand aussi! J'etais ce matin, ici a Villarrica, "invite" a entre dans un salon de chocolat (je ne sais pas comment appeler ca autrement) et a ma grande surprise,
Am I getting closerAm I getting closerAm I getting closer

I don't think so...but for those who like geography (or mathematics), you will be able to locate the place this photograph has been taken!!!
la tele etait en allemand et le gateau aux framboises delicieux et plein de creme!

Mais il faut continuer a remonter vers le Nord et c'est ce que je vais faire des ce soir en prenant un bus pour Santiago. Je ne sais pas si je vais y rester un peu ou aller directement a Mendoza en Argentine...on verra...mais je suis a la moitie du voyage. Deja deux mois que j'ai quitte l'Europe! Ca me parait si loin avec tout ce que j'ai vu et fait depuis le 7 Janvier et en meme temps si pres...je me revois a Schiphol attendant mon avion! Et puis, il me reste encore un bon petit bout de route avant Lima ;-) alors en route...






Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The climberThe climber
The climber

yeah yeah, it's me


9th March 2006

Creme solaire !?!,§?
Merci pour ton soutien aux peuplades de l'hemisphere Nord. Vu la température ambiante et le soleil non apparent, c'est l'horreur. Autrement, on fait un tournoi inter-arrondissement de Coinche le mercredi 22 mars. Avec ta présence, cela deviendrait un tournoi inter-continental, donc dépêche toi de revenir Bon, on t'embrasse et amuse toi bien A+

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb