The start of my gypsy life


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Araucanía » Pucón
January 14th 2007
Published: January 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Pucon


It’s already been a month since I last had an entry in this blog and my writing is pretty rusty!

I hope you all enjoyed the festivities in your part of the world. Mine were really good. Spent Christmas in Santiago with the family, which was very special as it only happens every once in a while. I am also not used to spending it with palm trees around and a scorching heat.
Hogmanay was the same as most of you, drunk and a bad hangover the next day. We first spent it with the family in Talca, 3 hours south of Santiago. After the bells, we left the “oldies” behind and went with my cousins to a party organised in a “media luna”, the Chilean equivalent of a rodeo stadium. The best thing of the night was when we found out it was an open bar and I can assure you that we made the most of it.

Everyone has now left around the same time. My parents and brother flew back a week ago. As for Evan, he left on the 4th to continue his trip on the other side of the Andes, slowly making his way
Los ojos del CabulgaLos ojos del CabulgaLos ojos del Cabulga

The 3 waterfalls I decided to ride 40 km for. Still, a nice place and worth the visit.
back to Buenos Aires. We spent a really good three weeks travelling and staying in Santiago. It was a real good laugh to have him around.

As for myself, well I’ve finally started the bohemian life I’ve long waited for. Last Wednesday, I took a bus for the south of Chile towards the Andes and the resort of Pucon, where my cousin is spending her summer holidays. The region, a 1000km from Santiago, is known as the lake district of Chile and the heart land of the Mapuche tribe (Chile’s biggest indigenous tribe). What is so great with Pucon is its seaside resort feeling to it. It has very crowded black sanded beaches surrounding the lake and the town is right at the foot of the fuming glacier-tipped Volcano Villarica. The locals don’t feel too stressed knowing that it might blow up anytime soon.

Even with all the outdoor activities available, I have been pretty lazy since I got here. My days have been all about relaxing on the beach with my cousin and frying under the sun.
Only yesterday did I decide to get my act together and rented a bike for half a day, to know the round about of Pucon. I’m well surprised off myself and managed to do a 40k bike ride just to see 3 waterfalls. With all the sweat poured that afternoon, I’m sure you could open a distillery with what has happened this past month with Evan. Today I’m feeling fairly sunburnt and all that I can say is that you can iron clothe on my bum being so squared.


Advertisement



15th January 2007

bohemian love
oh nico, bonne annee mon petit sanglier chilien. je te kif mec. we all miss your going out antics here so come back soon. enjoy
16th January 2007

Wech Nick
wech poto ,ca va ? Moi ca va bien ,mais j'ai prreferer le gen-ar a contre-coeur je kifferai etre en Amsud avec toi cousin!ce n'est ke parerti remise poto. En tt cas enjoy et reviens nous avec plein de souvenir et de stories. Et franchement le blog :bien.(Je pensais pas que tu pouvais rediger comme et avec autant d'assiduite, ah,ah!!). Bon poto et keep up de blog. Gaffes-fais poto!!!!
16th January 2007

Jammy we F*&^%$
Dude, you're a lucky bugger! Here's me sitting in the office with the pissing rain and 60mph winds outside and you're getting sunburnt! Anyway, happy new year and all that jaz and keep the journals comming as it's a good read! Laters boyo!
17th January 2007

No Fair!
Awrite bud great to hear from you. Sounds like you had a good Christmas and New Year. Awrabest for 2007! I had a good one too but was back to work soon after which was a bit of a gutter. All your pictures are just fuelling my desire to get out there!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb