Antofagasta in Pictures


Advertisement
Published: December 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Since I am horrible about writing journals I figured I'd just post some of many photos I have. Here is where I lived for 6 months in pictures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Antofagasta from a distanceAntofagasta from a distance
Antofagasta from a distance

This view of Antofagasta is from the brand new mall. The mall is actually really beautiful and the area around it was made into nice boardwalks. Our last 2 months were mainly spent there.
Home for 6 monthsHome for 6 months
Home for 6 months

This is my host family's house. It's a big house, but my family only lived on the right side. Notice the strange cage? That's the garage.
My host family + 2My host family + 2
My host family + 2

This is a pic of my host family plus 2 others. The boy to the left and the lady on the phone were not part of my host family but were there that day and part of their extended family.
Calle LinaresCalle Linares
Calle Linares

This is the street that I lived on, Linares.
A street in AntofagastaA street in Antofagasta
A street in Antofagasta

This would actually be considered a nice street, but you can see a patch of grass and then the dirt hills in the background
Plaza Sotomayor & Mercado CentralPlaza Sotomayor & Mercado Central
Plaza Sotomayor & Mercado Central

This was about 6 blocks from my house and another meeting place. Every Wednesday me and 3 others would always meet up here and let out our frustrations. That was until a dog fight ended up in our laps and a friend got stratched. We relocated our Wednesday meetings after that.
Plaza ColonPlaza Colon
Plaza Colon

One of the few pretty places in Antofagasta, Plaza Colon. It has fountains, a clock tower, benches, grass(a rarity), flowers and gypsies. Gypsies are just an annoyance but the area is still pretty.
Paseo PratPaseo Prat
Paseo Prat

A pedestrian mall area with in the center of the city. My friends and I would generally meet here, get ice cream and people watch. Sometimes there would be street artists singing, doing comedy or other odd bits that would entertain us. Unfortunately after a few months this area got to be very boring.
Another typical street in AntofagastaAnother typical street in Antofagasta
Another typical street in Antofagasta

This isn't too far from my school.


24th December 2006

Oh, how I love photos!
Thanks for sharing with us all of your surroundings in Antofagasta. I can't wait to see you next month. Take care and I love you. MOM
27th December 2006

Thank you
Thank you for the lovely card and sharing all your adventures. I hope you enjoyed your Christmas. Miss you lots : ) and stay safe.
6th January 2007

Is it a volunteer program?
Hi Erin, You dont know me, I am from Australia, I wondered about your blogs and if you are with a volunteer program cause I am planning to go to do this in March of 2007, only 10 weeks away, I would be in Antofagasta more than likely although havent been told officially yet, maybe by Feburary i shall know...not holding my breath. Would love to find out more about the place and how you are doing with Spanish. My email is emmy006@gmail.com thanks.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb