Guess who´s blogging . . .


Advertisement
Published: March 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Revolving RestaurantRevolving RestaurantRevolving Restaurant

Seventh salad in three days for the four vegetarians. So nice of us to all sit together, makes it easier to plunk those salads down in a row . . .
First off, Hola from Antofagasta!! A sincere apology to all of you who thought I had died, I am actually quite well (at times) and still breathing down here in Chile. Today marks the half-way point of my first month down here, and I think Im finally at the point where I can begin to see the necessity for the dreaded blog. Though I havent had much to do in the past week and a half other than sit in my office and IM/e-mail folks, things are now starting (kind of) to pick up with classes starting, etc. and some consolidation/mass proliferation of my stories and near death experiences sounds like the way to go. Enter the BLOGGGGG. So I feel like Im goign to have to just lay out the bare facts along with some cute pictures of llamas and the like here and save anything controversial for private correspondence . . . those of you who know me know my life is pretty much a constant struggle not to stick my foot in my mouth. Hence the idea of blogging or any public display of my thoughts makes me understandably nervous. I will give it a try though -
Loro the ArtistLoro the ArtistLoro the Artist

Admiring the huge mural in a cafe in Valpo, turns out the French artist who made it was also there having coffee at the time!! Crazy world. (Ross that is the guy who made the postcard, too)
just for you guys. And since Lauren is making me look bad with her awesome communication/computer skills 😊 So in this inaugural blog let me tell you that I spent a week in Santiago, the capital of Chile, for an orientation and a chance to meet the other Fulbrighters teaching English. (See Santiago photos- I hope. I havent actually uploaded them yet so this could sound stupid if when you read it there are none cause I cant figure out how to do it.) We went to Valparaiso also for the weekend and saw La Sebastiana, one of the homes of Chilean poet Pablo Neruda. I think I will stop there before launching in to the Antofagasta stuff . . . just suffice it to say that I left all my friends to come to Santiago, then met like 8 new ones, then had to leave them to come all by myself to Antofagasta, aka the moon, alone . . . that should give you some insight into my state of mind upon arrival here. For now, enjoy the photos, and look for more to come on my BLOGGGG.



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Capitol BuildingCapitol Building
Capitol Building

This is where the president of Chile used to live. No idea where shes living now . . .
Santiago Aerial ViewSantiago Aerial View
Santiago Aerial View

Took a funicular up a hill in Santiago, and these are photos of the city from above.
Santiago Aerial View - GondolaSantiago Aerial View - Gondola
Santiago Aerial View - Gondola

Another aerial view of Santiago (its not that hazy, im inside a an ancient, dirty gondola, gripping the seat for dear life)
Emily Adrienne and KathyEmily Adrienne and Kathy
Emily Adrienne and Kathy

Out in the Baquedano area of Santiago
Escudo!Escudo!
Escudo!

Escudo is one of the domestic beers of Chile, so we drank it. Adrienne, Kathy, Joe, ME
Santiago StreetSantiago Street
Santiago Street

Street near our hotel in Santiago
Crowded SantiagoCrowded Santiago
Crowded Santiago

Someone turned off the flash on my camera the night before to take pics of a sign for Emilio, so this is blurry . . . or is everyone just moving realllly fast!?!
Cocshin Roncardia is Coming to Santiago!!!Cocshin Roncardia is Coming to Santiago!!!
Cocshin Roncardia is Coming to Santiago!!!

I just included this to justify the bluriness . . .
Group shot of FulbrighterGroup shot of Fulbrighter
Group shot of Fulbrighter

At the Arturo Prat statue in Valparaiso
Another view of ValpoAnother view of Valpo
Another view of Valpo

Up on one of the many hills overlooking Valparaiso
Street in ValpoStreet in Valpo
Street in Valpo

All of the houses are bright colors and there are graffiti murals everywhere-
La SebastianaLa Sebastiana
La Sebastiana

Home of Pablo Neruda


16th March 2006

Yo
Emily! I miss you. Remember when I asked you how your midterm went back in school, and you responded, 'stinky tubes'? That was funny.
16th March 2006

You're alive!!!
YAY! I love the pics. I'm impressed. I'm glad we can now blog together in infinite simplifying of the millions of things actually going on in our foreign countries. I miss you so very much, but I'm glad its going well. Email me MUCH LOVE

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb