Antoine School's First Annual Spelling Bee Contest


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Aisén » Coyhaique
October 22nd 2010
Published: October 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My lovely bulletin boardMy lovely bulletin boardMy lovely bulletin board

The kids tore it apart but it still looks awesome!
As part of my involvement in the English Department, I conducted a Spelling Bee competition at the elementary school I work at. I invited all the kids to participate voluntarily. As a result, I had more contestants than I needed. I had to carry out a preliminary round the day before the competition so that I could have 5 kids per grade left.

The competition was done by rounds were two grades participated at the time. The whole competition was carried out in English so sometimes it was up to my applause of lack of to notify the parents, teachers and students that they had spelled correctly or incorrectly a word. Chilean kids are always full of energy and I was a little worried that they would misbehave during the competition. On the contrary, they were really quiet and provided a lot of support for their fellow classmates. The competitors who lost were really dissapointed and the ones who won really happy.

At the end of the day all the teachers were really happy that they had helped their students take that first step into becoming fluent in a second language.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

The feared podiumThe feared podium
The feared podium

We had to put a couple steps behind it so kids could reach it
With our 1st grade spellersWith our 1st grade spellers
With our 1st grade spellers

My coteacher and I with the 1st grade spellers
Our lovely judgesOur lovely judges
Our lovely judges

Two other volunteers and the regional English coordinator judged the competition
O-V-E-R-W-E-I-G-H-TO-V-E-R-W-E-I-G-H-T
O-V-E-R-W-E-I-G-H-T

Our first place speller!


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb