Even the best laid plans


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil
March 11th 2016
Published: March 16th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


2016-03-06 18.32.272016-03-06 18.32.272016-03-06 18.32.27

Picking up the KTM in Colonia
I did not plan this a lot but I did plan and that was to get there, ie Uruguay and then get a move on ASAP.

Well that did not happen, Lufthansa managed to miss their own connection due to tardiness leaving Gothenburg, so I got to stay in lovely Frankfurt overnight.

Thank Dog for friends, got a trainride up to Wetzlar to see my friends up there which cut the boredom of waiting back quite a lot.

A long flight later I get to Montevideo and the guy who's going to meet me is not there and my luggage has not arrived and the ATM does not like my Visa card.

Jet lagged I did feel a bit sorry for myself, with the help of a friendly local I called Javier and then sat down to wait for a couple of hours.

Books are good to have around when boredom is great.

Finally he turns up and we trek across Uruguay to pick up my non starting bike.

Twice I've left my bike in Uruguay, both times times they've just not given a shit, they had my mail address and could have asked what to do, but no.

So a 200 dollar retrieval and a 150 dollar battery, intercourse people who don't do what they promise, to his credit I got a discount on the storage.

A mad dash from Colonia up to Rocha where javier has his place with a well equipped workshop.

I'd brought, a lot of spare parts including a new tyre, oil , an airfilter and bits and bobs, all of this out in the great unknown, intercourse TAM some shoddy Brazilian airline.

So I hung around with javier going to Rocha to see his new bike shop to be.

He lives out in the country with a basically the whole spectre of animals that went on the ark with Noah.

The bike having suffered a long trip without much more than basic maintenance needed some TLC, actually a lot of TLC.

Three days later and many dollars poorer I bid a fare thee well to Javier, his girlfriend and the zoo and set of with all speed towards Brazil.

The first day in Brazil it decides to rain, a lot. The skies open and I got soaked, my jacket and
2016-03-08 16.03.032016-03-08 16.03.032016-03-08 16.03.03

Notice the puppies sleeping in the top of the pic
trousers are good but the boots not so.

So late, in darkness I arrive in Florianopolis, having filtered between the lanes in rush hour traffic, the locals dash like mad with their bikes.

Mine is wider than the Q E 2, with the big panniers in the back so I don't dash but drive as fast as I dare between the long queues, and of course it rains.

The trip was nice, there's some nice scenery and all is green everywhere.

No pics because I cant't be bothered to stop and take out my cell for pics.

Some weird Brazilian fast food for dinner with two beers and I hit the sack.

I wanted to get an early start but I can't get my bike out of the parking lot at the hotel, some cars have me totally locked in.

So back to reading.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb