Brazil


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil
July 3rd 2010
Published: July 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I arrive into Rio de Janeiro and stay in Che Lagarto Hostel in Copacabana. I begin with a tour of some of the most well known sights - Christ the Redeemer statue which allows some amazing views across the city and is a looming prescence observed from most places. Equally impressive views are also obtained from Sugar Loaf Mountain (ascended by cable car). No doubt you will have seen photographs on facebook to admire the views. I then head to the Maracana Stadium which is not as impressive as I thought it would be; it's stands are set back a long distance from the pitch thus affording it's high capacity. I also spend a lot of time in Rio at the Fifa Fan Festival on Copacabana Beach. To put it simply, it was embarassing being an England fan and the players should be ashamed of themsleves. However, the atmosphere for the Brazil games was impressive; if only for the shear numbers watching the games. We never made it into the 20,000 capacity Fan Park for the games, instead watching the games on another big screen outside the park, with another 20,000 fans (and more). Rio is a great party place and so I spend a few of my 10 days out savouring the atmosphere - it is evident that Brazilians don't need an escuse to party! It's suprising, however, how the city lacks bars. It is common place for Brazilians to drink in narow tapas like places which are socialable as their size allows.

After Rio, I catch a ferry to Ilha Grande (I say ferry but it was really a boat which I and another English passenger spend an initial 30 minutes unloading furniture). Ilha Grande is a great little getaway, containing no banks, cars etc. I book into another Che Lagarto hostel in an extremely scenic spot. My time coincides with Brazil being beaten by Holland in the world cup. We watch the game at one of the busier bars which also contains 4 Dutch who can't hide their elation when Holland score! However, there was a great scene after the game when most Brazilians in the bar applauded the 4 Dutch and wished them luck in the next round.

I then head back to the mainland to Paraty; this being a colonial town of picturesque cobbled steets, almost like a larger version of Colonia del Sacramento in Uruguay. The highlight is heading out on a schooner boat visiting the islands around Paraty. The scenery is great being admired from a great boat. We stop off at two beaches and two swimming sites (I, of course, being the first to dive off the top of the boat!)

It´s then time to move onwards to Bolivia, which requires a 6 hour coach to Sao Paulo. I then negotiate the rush hour underground of Sao Paulo followed by a 13 hour overnight coach to Corumba near the border (I decided against staying Sao Paulo as other travellers report that there isn´t really anything to see or do there). Upon arrival, I´m so keen to get to a hotel a hop on a motorcycle taxi (i.e. just a normal motorbike with me on the back with two backpacks!) I stay in one of the better hotels in Corumba...but which was still a dive and basic to the extreme. It was almost like walking into the house off Fight Club!
I´m eager to leave early the next day and catch a cab to the border quite early and negotiate the border crossing quite easily. After walking across no mans land, I catch another cab in Bolivia to nearby Quijarro which forms the start of my next blog.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb