Equator crossing..


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil
January 31st 2006
Published: January 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Internet connection is back!! We were in a ‘satellite shadow’ as we crossed the Equator, so internet wasn’t working. I felt like I was stuck in the middle of the Ocean without any means of communication! Oh wait…
Anyway, yesterday was Neptune Day. What is Neptune Day? I’m not sure…because I wasn’t listening when ‘The Voice’ (the dean’s over the loud speaker) was talking about it…something about keeping Neptune happy. However, I did catch him say that if anyone flushes any more ‘foreign objects’ down the toilet we will be two tampons closer to a toilet catastrophe.
So…a marching band of drummers with whistles annoyingly tromped (is that a word?) down our hallway, banging on doors, at 7:00 in the morning. I think it’s the staff on the ship’s way of getting back at us. Time for the festivities to begin…
We all gathered around the pool, well more like a ‘cold tub’ because it’s the size of a big hot tub with cold water in it…and King and Queen Neptune (the two dean’s dressed up) said a little speech…wasn’t listening…so yadda yadda yadda later, the custom is that those who want to, stand in their bathing suits and get fake fish guts (a green mixture of oatmeal and poppy seeds…it was sweet. How do I know this? I accidentally swallowed a mouthful) poured over our heads. Then we jump into the pool, we are asked if we respect the sea and everything in it as we get out, we have to kiss a real dead fish, and then the ring on King Neptune’s hand.
Luckily my friend did it with me, because she totally ate sh*t as she jumped in..there’s two pools. You STEP in the first one, b/c it’s shallow and then jump into the next…well she jumped hard into the baby pool and banged up her knees. My other friend got it on video… that was maybe the first time that I actually didn’t get hurt doing something stupid and someone else did!
Then it’s time for head shaving. The sailors used to shave their heads as they crossed the equator for the first time, symbolizing the riddance of their previous past and everything that was negative in their lives. NO…I did not shave my head, even though I had a lot of people pressuring me to! It took way too long to grow it out this long…maybe I’ll have dreads by the time I come home instead 😊 However, a bunch of chicks did and most of them look pretty bad. Hahaha. I wonder how many people woke up the next day with a big expression of regret?
Tomorrow we arrive in Salvador, Brazil where I go to a capoeira dance fight. It should be pretty fun! I’m gonna kick their Brazillian asses…well maybe not.
Last night we finally saw stars…they are amazing. I can see some in Orion that aren’t apparent in PA.

Hey Lomas…that backpack worked great. I’m actually letting my roommate use it for a weekend trip in Brazil. Sorry the weather sucks! Maybe we’d get some more snow if we didn’t have all that global warming! Dude, climb hard!

Mom and dad- Hi. I’ll try to call you guys from Brazil- maybe to wire me some more money? Just kidding! Yes, I’m still running. Yesterday I ran 6 miles, without falling off the treadmill this time! YES! I feel like an experimental rat running for people in lab coats when I’m on that thing. I can only hope this isn’t a Big Brother ship or something…love you both.

Well, I’ll talk to everyone soon…pictures are coming, I swear. Love you all- take care and have fun!


Advertisement



1st February 2006

Im here
I have been reading your journal I just haven't had anything funny to say since I usually read it befor I go to bed! Thats right Liz I go to bed thinking of you! I hope you do the same! It sounds like your having a blast and I wish we could be there to share it but hey, someone's gotta stay home and climd and since Im broke thats what I've been doing! Love ya!
1st February 2006

Cool!!
It sounds like you are having an amazing time!! Are you keeping a record of everything you do and see? I'm glad that you are still running!! The registration will be open soon for the Broad Street Run. Here's the web address: http://www.broadstreetrun.com/ -- If you register for it, then you'll be less likely to back out of the race!! Love and miss you!! Stef
5th February 2006

Well it sounds like your having fun. The only time that i have gone on a cruise i was pretty young but the one thing that i can remember like it was yesterday were the stars and how big the moon was. I remember thinking that it was almost close enough to touch. Damn the sky is beautiful at night! Capoeria Dance Fighting???? What the hell is that about? Well have fun in Brazil. Talk to you again when our paths cross. Lomas
7th February 2006

Hope all is well
What's up landical! I hope it's all you wished it to be. The stories sound awesome. I hope you learn how to do crazy flips and shit doing capoeira! I think i can appreciate the night sky comment the most though. I never realize how bright everything is until you get rid of all the light pollution. Safe travels. PEACE. ADAM

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb