End of Rio


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil
May 22nd 2007
Published: May 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Craft TimeCraft TimeCraft Time

Everyone doing their crafting thing. We had a great time.
Today was a great day to wrap up my time with the Verdolin family. Last night I took them out for dinner and we had a lot of fun. We laughed a lot which is what makes the night so great. Before going to Christo, Fatima and I went to her work. She does art with some elderly people who live in a care facility. Most of them are quite mentally handicapped. It was so much fun. I think this is my second highlight of my trip. We painted stuff and did crafts. Some of them spoke french which was very good. There was one woman who was very sound minded and spoke very good french. She was my pal for the morning. There were 2 other women who don´t live at the facility but Fatima takes them there everytime she has goes to do her art. They were very cool and one spoke a little english and the other one spoke a little french. All in all it was amazing. There was one man who didn´t speak at all. He moaned a few times but there was nothing to understand. When no one was watching he intentionally dumped a bottle of blue paint all over the floor and all the nurses came running out to clean it up. I was trying very hard not to laugh. We went to another buffet for lunch. Today Fatima and I went to Corcovado which is the mountain that has Christo on the top (Christ the Redeemer). It was uncredibly windy up there which made it not as good as I had hoped but it was still super cool to actually be there. There were more people speaking english there than I have heard since leaving Toronto. Tonight I am going to stay in my hotel that I will meet the group at. I am kind of looking forward to having some independent time, although I am going to miss the Verdolin family emensly. I could not have asked for a better family to spend the past week with. I am very thankful for them. I won´t be near a computer as often so I won´t be updating this as often as I have been but you can still call and leave me voicemails and I will try to check them regularly. The phone number is 1-866-626-9724 I think and my account is
Group PhotoGroup PhotoGroup Photo

This was part of the group including the nurses.
2111258078.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

CorcovadoCorcovado
Corcovado

The entrance sign for Corcovado. I thought it was kind of cool looking.
Looking DownLooking Down
Looking Down

This was the view from one side of Corcovado. The houses spanning up the maontain is a favela.
Me and ChristoMe and Christo
Me and Christo

Just hanging out with Christo looking over my shoulder.
Standing in Front of the ManStanding in Front of the Man
Standing in Front of the Man

It is kind of weird standing in from of Christ.
Fatima and I on the TrainFatima and I on the Train
Fatima and I on the Train

We decided to do a self portrait on the train.
View from the TopView from the Top
View from the Top

There were so many stairs so I stopped for a rest/photo. It was nice!
Toes are GoodToes are Good
Toes are Good

Ok so they aren´t perfect but they made it longer than I thought they would and I think they are doing well considering I hiked up a moutain in crocs.


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb