My first day in São Paulo


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » São Paulo » São Paulo
December 26th 2007
Published: December 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After a 12-hour flight from Frankfurt (Lufthansa are great!) I finally made it to São Paulo.... I'm officially in Brazil and on another continent...hehe

I arrived at 7am Brazilian time (10am Malta time), which meant I had the whole day ahead me. I must admit I was quite tired after the journey, but being in a foreign country gives you unexpected energy, and the sun was shining and it was so warm ... I love this weather!

Karene, my friend from SP was at the airport to welcome me, which was great, since I haven't seen here since last July. Put my stuff down at her apartment, took a shower and then she asked me if I minded to join her and her twin sister,Tamires, in looking for an apartment to rent, as they would like to move...

What an original first day! 😊 I got driven around this neighbourhood of SP, known as Higienópolis and got to see about 8 apartments. I don't know yet if this is something typical of all of SP, but this neighbourhood is just full of high apartment buildings, it's really rare to come across a house... one would think it would
Apartments in Higienópolis Apartments in Higienópolis Apartments in Higienópolis

The view from one of the apartments we looked at...
look really ugly, but on the contrary, the buildings (edificios) are all in good taste and the streets are a lush green with beautiful trees and well-kept patios. What I thought was interesting is that all apartments have 2 entrances... the main entrance and and a 'service'entrance for those that work for the owners... and at the entrance of every apartment building the concierge sits in his little 'office'... hehe

Also interesting... yesterday I ate Arabian food for luch and Japanese for dinner!!! Yum! That's another characteristic of SP, there's something to suit everyone's taste...

Tomorrow we're going to spend some relaxing time at the park and then Friday we're off to the coast for a few days, to Ubatuba, at Karene's friend's house, to celebrate the New Year... and it will be my very first time to swim on New Year's day!!! 😊




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Japanese dinnerJapanese dinner
Japanese dinner

Karene and her friend Mariah, from Vitoria
Japanese dinnerJapanese dinner
Japanese dinner

Tamires and her boyfriend, Samir


27th December 2007

Bem vinda!
Welcome to Brazil. I know you're gonna have a great time!
27th December 2007

brazil!!!
How nice !!! enjoy your sunny new year and have a good drink for me too :)
27th December 2007

hello ....
Hello bonita , I got more n more excited now that I've seen these photos and read yr blog. It's great. I can't wait to get there to start to experience this Brazilian adventure with you and meet again Karene after all this time.... :) In the meantime take care ... I'm counting down the days .... Ate logo ... Beijos Linda xxx :)
27th December 2007

Obrigada! :)
Thanks for your comments guys....I really look forward to reading them coz it feels like Í'm sharing the experience with you! And thanks to those who sent me messages too... next time leave a comment instead so I can answer you.... Kisses to all...
27th December 2007

Great start to your holiday!
Hi Yvanka - it looks like you had a great start to your holiday ... have a great new year ... and enjoy the swim!! xx
28th December 2007

hi
hi dont need to ask u how u r!!!! i am sure u r having d time of your life there and u r so lucky!!! thanks for sharing your experience with me too.....hope that u had a great xmas ...i am off to the UK for new year and then flying to ATHENS on the 2nd Jan for some shopping and soul to soul talk with my soulmate!!!!keep in touch and take care of yourself...big hug...oli
28th December 2007

keep the posts coming :)
Oh wow.. I am so jealous hehe.. the weather here is unbearably cold.. everything looks so lovely. I am glad you arrived safely pupa.. Looking forward to seeing Brazil through your posts.. xxxxx
29th December 2007

Enjoy!!
HI Yv, What a great start to your hol and to 2008!! Lovely reading your experiences! Enjoy every minute and have a swim for me!! :-))
2nd January 2008

happy new year!!!
hi darling ... how's it going?? I couldn't sms you from italy because i was having trouble with my mobile (€, battery & charger hihi). it was great, obviously - cold - Malta seems hot now we're back. i have to get down to some serious studying, but can't wait to go abroad again! Happy New Year & Enjoy S.America to the FULL! Lots of love xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
3rd January 2008

Remember snow?
Hi Yvanka - it's going to snow in London today apparently. How weird does that sound? I am wrapped up so warm I am over heating right now mind you! Have a fab time in less clothes than me! xxx

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb