RIO


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro
May 18th 2007
Published: May 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


sao paulo from abovesao paulo from abovesao paulo from above

It´s funny how all cities look like they are from the sims when you take a picture of them from a plane. This isn´t even half of the city but all the other parts looked the same.

Untitled Well the past few days have been great. Despite all of my worries, my flights were great. I was sitting beside an amazing lady for the flight from Toronto to Sao Paulo. She is from there and invited me to stay at her huge home with her if ever I return. We did a double cheek kiss to say goodbye at the end of the trip. It is kind of like Europe here for that. When I met someone else, instead of the typical hand shake, we double kissed. This might be my new thing. So all in all the travelling was a success. I made all my connections which is amazing. The only problem is that although I made my connections, my baggage did not and so I do not have my pack with me right now. I went shopping today though to get clean underwear and a new bathing suit so that I can go swimming tomorrow. I am not sure how I will be able to swim in the swim suit that I bought though. The bottoms are so small. I don´t think Brazilian bikinis know what they are~. They can´t decide between full bum or thing
Sao Paulo ArtSao Paulo ArtSao Paulo Art

There was more grafiti than I have ever seen in this city.
so they are this awkward shape in between the 2. Let´s just say that they are not made for people who´s nickname is bubblebutt! I spent the day with Fatima, the mother of the family that I am staying with. She is awesome. We can only communicate in French so thank goodness I know some. My portugese and her english are about on par. We went to the botanical gardens this morning. It is amazing there. There are so many trees that are humungous. They had vegetation from all over the world. They even had the wild rose. I had fun trying to explain "provincial flowers" to Fatima in my limited french but I think she got the message. We then went shopping where I became frustrated with the Brazilian fashions. Not only are the bikinis confused, but so are the underwear. I had to buy 3 of them because I don´t know when I will get my luggage back so I am wearing the confused undies and they are not comfy at all. And they give everyone panty lines. I have not seen a single woman without panty lines and they are all wearing the confused underwear. Old, young,
me in the botanical gardenme in the botanical gardenme in the botanical garden

There were arbors like this all over the place. I thought they were very pretty.
you name it, they are wearing them, SICK! We also went the museum of moderne art. It was pretty cool, although this visit confirmed that I don´t know how to appreciate modern art. I don´t see what is creative about 2 peices of construction paper of the same color glued side by side. Oh well, the building was shaped like a space ship and I had fun saying "beam me up scotty" and having all the locals look at me like I was an alien. We then walked around the city across the bay from Rio, Niteroi. We took the ferry both ways which was pretty cool. Anyways the family that I am with is amazing. We went out for dinner last night and it was good. It was a buffet. They food was decent but very american which was somewhat dissapointing. I had pizza for lunch and it was great. We had an appetizer there that the enitre restaruant was eating (the name has slipped my memory) but it was huge. There was 2 kinds of suausage, 4 kinds of bread, olives, mini hard boiled eggs, a dip made of mayo and ketchup, pate, soft herbed cheese and butter.
the orchid house the orchid house the orchid house

There was a beautiful bulding that was FULL of orchids. It was amazing. I would like to point out that this was not my shirt and that is why it was too short.
It was sooo good. The pizza looked like it was made on a flour tortilla it was so thin, but it was delicious. Talk to you all soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

view from the ferryview from the ferry
view from the ferry

This is the long bridge that connects Niteroi and Rio. I am glad we took the ferry becuase this was a long bridge.
Museu do Arte ModerneMuseu do Arte Moderne
Museu do Arte Moderne

As if this doesn´t look like some kind or alien space craft... beam me up!
fantastic modern artfantastic modern art
fantastic modern art

This is why I don´t understand modern art. There was a picture of a water jug with water pouring in and out of it. As it went in and out there was the sound of inhaling and exhaling. Every once in a while the machine would begin to shake and make weird noises. I see no beauty in this!
the streets of Niteroithe streets of Niteroi
the streets of Niteroi

This was the street that we walked on for about an hour in Niteroi. It was beautiful there. It has the same population as Rio but it felt less busy.
the city building of riothe city building of rio
the city building of rio

Ok I know that my crappy translation makes no sense but this is what I understood from Fatima´s explanation.


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb