We're not in Kansas Anymore


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro
September 3rd 2013
Published: May 26th 2017
Edit Blog Post

The ride those last few hours to Rio made the whole awful bus trip worth it. The scenery was beautiful; the gently rolling hills eventually turned into mountains the closer to the city we got. We drove through a number of cute towns and cities. There was a lot less of European architecture influence here than in Argentina. We made a number of more stops to drop people off. Eventually we made it Rio de Janeiro where there were only 2 of us passengers still on the bus.
From the bus station I took a taxi to the hotel, where I was a little early so had to wait for the room to finish being cleaned before I could head up. It was fine though since I had wi-fi and could shoot off a couple of emails about making it safely to the city. I was so excited to get into the room for a nice hot shower. I was in dire need after 2 day long bus rides and hiking the falls. After getting settled in, I headed out to the town. My poor purse had gone through a beating due to all the things I was putting in it and dragging it around Argentina. I went shopping for a new one. I ended up getting a similar black one that had a detachable strap so I could use it for either purse.
Jeeves stopped by that evening and we headed out for dinner together. He told me stories about him getting in last night and walking the beach. He was stopped by transvestite prostitutes and approached by 3 people trying to sell him drugs. He spent the morning going on a tour of the favels with the apartment owner's lawyer friend - seems he is a lawyer for the drug lords in the favel because Jeeves got to go in one of the marble homes for a beautiful view of the city. The dinner we had was fantastic and the service awesome. I didn't even have to refill my water or add more rice to my plate, they stood by and did that all for me. Since I was feeling under the weather from the bus ride, I called it an evening to chill at the hotel and get some sleep. I attempted to wait up for Andrew and the girls, but didn't make it. I barely heard him when he came in at 1 am.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb