Music and Beach and Shopping, O Boy!


Advertisement
Published: March 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sao Conrado beach, SunriseSao Conrado beach, SunriseSao Conrado beach, Sunrise

Umm...beach, Sao Conrado, Sunrise.
Okay, so for the last few days, life has fallen into a pattern of waking up in the early afternoon, and wondering what to do with ourselves. Usually, we end up eating something,
then heading downtown. Yesterday, we went late down to the Center of the City, and toured around the Ipanema area (we had done Copacabana previously). Included in our tour were the famous Bar of the Garota da Ipanema (the bar where Vinicius de Moraes and Antonio Carlos Jobim wrote the famous song) and the Toca de Vinicius (a less touristy, more music-oriented version of the same thing) I hit a music store and almost died. We finally went shopping at a mall and found some decent buys. The only problem with that whole venture, is that I forgot the battery to the camera in the charger, so...I'm going back for pics later. Back to the hotel to crash, and then out to eat at a nice little "Botequim" in the Barra da Tijuca district with live music, and amazing food. I'm eating rice and beans like the world is running short, and it tastes SO good. Even the farofa is helping to kill my saudades of this place.
Beach Volleyball, ArashBeach Volleyball, ArashBeach Volleyball, Arash

Arash, returns from creeping the beach Volleyball players on Ipanema.
Since the Parade of Champions, when we got home at 6AM-ish, our internal clocks have been all screwed up, and we returned home late.

The people of Rio continue to be the true highlight of the trip. So open, so giving, so flexible and accomodating. Smiles SO bright and infectious.

Today we went back to Ipanema to beach it. I'm getting to be a great body-surfer, but the waves scare the poop out of me when you really catch a good one. There you are, about 4 feet about the water table, being hurled along by this rushing torrent of water, which at any moment could send your head straight into the sand, breaking your neck. But it's so fun!
Following the time at the beach, which turned out to be mostly overcast today, we walked all the way around to Copacabana beach, and a nice "hippie" fairl. Shopping at the tourist traps proved to be a rather successful venture.

Tonight we ate outdoors at a copabana patio, and were entertained by a few fellows dancing "Capoeira - a type of choreography with dancing and fight-like moves.

Going to try to do the Christo Redentor Statue
Me, Sunning myself...or so I thoughtMe, Sunning myself...or so I thoughtMe, Sunning myself...or so I thought

This is what happens when I give Mo the camera and ask him to take a pic of me during one of the lonely sunny times in the day today. Perhaps the lens is dirty or something.
tomorrow, which sits on the Corcovado morro.

Tchau!

S


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Grease spill on the beachGrease spill on the beach
Grease spill on the beach

Sam, Arash, and Mo catching some cloud. Note the shiny bodies.
Tough Guys Drink Coco VerdeTough Guys Drink Coco Verde
Tough Guys Drink Coco Verde

Don't mess with me, I've got an enlarged left nut.
It's all about StretchingIt's all about Stretching
It's all about Stretching

You see...I find Yoga helps to stretch both the mind and the soul.
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Sun sets behind "Dois Irmaos" morro as I look back toward Leblon from the point separating Copacabana and Ipanema.
Copacabana Beach at nightCopacabana Beach at night
Copacabana Beach at night

Photos don't do it justice...


8th March 2006

I see no yesterday comment
Maybe I don't know what I'm doing. You poor suckers burning on the beach! Read and weep. We have chinook winds gusting to 90 and plus 7 degrees, snow melting and paradise here!! Our sunsets compare albeit missing "Dois Irmaos" morrow!

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb