Maracana Madness


Advertisement
Published: March 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I went to a soccer game at the Maracana, the biggest stadium in the world. Flamengo (ranked 3rd) played Americano (ranked last), and won 3-1, but that´s not the interesting part. Even though this was not really an important game, the small crowd (relative to the stadium) was cheering and banging drums the whole time. I didn´t see anyone throwing cups full of urine, but I read that´s also customary there.
Before that I went to Copacabana (the beach, not the small town in Bolivia, but apparently the beach is named after the town). It really wasn´t something special, just a long beach with lots of people on it.
There are no pictures, because I don´t really like taking my camera out in Rio - if you want to see what it looks like come see for yourself (or look for pictures on the internet).
I´m still not sure what my plans are, but I am going to make some soon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.267s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0771s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb