Yeepee in Rio


Advertisement
Published: November 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

What a roller coaster ride the last 2 weeks where. The display of friendships of people in Ireland was so overwhelming that one has to ask the question why leave in the first place. I just had such a great time with everyone and am so grateful for all the help that everyone offered (nothing ever runs smoothly) that I felt really numb the last 24 hours.



But anyway - here we go - my first stretch is behind me and good advice is to come - DO NOT fly long haul with British Airways!!! It sucks! My chicken casserole dish was delivered as cheese with Macaroni (not the other way around) the TV was broken, I was surrounded by a crèche - didn’t get an aisle seat and they didn’t even give us a hot towel in the morning.

As unlucky as I was with my surroundings I was lucky with the people I met. Traveling alone is already working out very well as people are so helpful and really looked after me so nothing happens.

The guy sitting next to me gave me loads of advice on what to see and helped me change my money and dropped me at the bus stop as I found the taxies to expensive. The stewardess from our flight was on the same bus and ended up sharing a cab with me to Santa Teresa and we’re going for drinks tomorrow. Hostel is all good - mind you I slept all day and did´t investigate it fully yet. When for a walk around to get drinks and dinner and the senses are already overflowing. The sweet sent of sweat, rain (its bucketing down), food, poverty and sewage is overwhelming. Top this with a coffee that nearly transported me into next year and dinner consisting of fresh delicious Mango and Banana covered with Yogurt one is easily reminded why one is here... I’m loving it.

Anyway - weather should be good tomorrow and I’m planning to give a call out to Jesus - I´ll put in a good word for all of you!

Photos will follow soon!

Julia

PS.: Although tempted I have not smoked!!! Yeepee!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb