Rio to Salta (North Argentina)


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Salta
November 15th 2007
Published: November 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Jesus and I were destined to meet but unfortunately the weather went against us. But I went to the sugar loaf with 2 lovely guys. Michael from Germany and Manuel from France. Ended up having dinner in Santa Teresa - which is this old part of Rio that is highly recommended!!! Absolutely beautiful and filled with artists, with little lanes and grand of buildings.
Impressions of Rio: Military cops with Flip Flops on that comes nad have breakfast with us in the hostel, safe, the most helpeful people - once you have a map out on the street and look confused people go out of their way to help you so nothing happens - great!

To escape the bad weather I ventured south to the Iguacu Falls on a 24 hour bus trip to be greeted by a big thunder storm. Mind you I was yet again in great company as I met Maxi from Buenos Aires on the bus and he entertained me to no end.
The Falls were INCREDIBLE and I think I will file them as one of the highlights of my trip once I´m able to process the brain overload of beautiful images. Once I found a computer that actually manages to upload some photos onto this site I´ll share some of the 250 photos that I took the 2 days I spent at Iguacu! They´ll speak for themselves.
As I enjoyed the previous bus trip so much I booked yet another one for 28 hours and I´m finding myself in Salta right now. This is such an oasis surrrounded by a stunning mountain setting in the very north of Argentina.
I´ll be heading up north tomorrow with 2 girls I met in the hostel as we decided to rent a car to be more flexible rather then booking a tour. Then I´m off to Bolivia. I CAN´T WAIT! I´m using this route as there was a massive earthquake in Chile and San Pedro de Atacama is effected to some degree.
The weather here is giving Ireland a good run for it´s money but I´m trying to ignore it as much as possible. It teased into believing that I´ll be boiling from now on (had 37C 2 days ago) but now its back to 15C and rain...

So - as you can guess I´m having a great time! If I was to pass away right now there is no doubt that I would be reincarnated as a cup of coffee or a sugary bun - my plans of anerixia have been prosponed to Bolivia (what this space...) Hope you´re all well... not missing you yet but thinking of you loads!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 15; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb