I Love Brazil


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro » Ipanema
January 4th 2009
Published: January 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=WrcngGwVQMY]Great beaches. Beautiful people. Lively city. Incomprehensible language. Yeah, I arrived in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. First of all, WOW! The energy and vibe in this city is great. People are relaxed and very patient. I don't speak a word of Portuguese, but I love how it sounds. There are some words that are similar to Spanish, but not really, so I still have a hard time understanding people. Sometimes I just stare at them blankly and smile. I'm like, "uhh....what??" I didn't buy a translating guide book. My friend, Homer, kept telling me I didn't need one. Wrong. We see foods on menus and just make guesses at what we're ordering sometimes. I did find out that "frango" is chicken. I'm good with that word. Oh and "obrigado" meaning thank you. That's pretty much all I learned on the first few days in Rio.

We flew to Rio from Lima, Peru because we wanted to spend New Year's in this town. Man, it was worth it! I have never seen anything like it. We partied at Copacabana beach with hundreds of thousands of party-goers. Kickass! Everyone was on the beach, dancing, drinking, laughing.....it was a great time. The fireworks were impressive. Great great show! After the show we jumped in the ocean for a New Year's swim. Sort of like a cleanse I guess. Washing away the negative from 2008 for a new beginning in 2009. After my travels through Brazil, I'm headed back to Rio. Decided to live there for a few months. Just can't help it.

Hope your New Year's was as memorable as mine.

love,
alex


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

CarnavalCarnaval
Carnaval

This is the road where the carnaval performers dance samba.
New Year's Day Party GroupNew Year's Day Party Group
New Year's Day Party Group

Wearing white is traditional in Brazil. Ready to party in Copacabana.
New YearNew Year
New Year

Celebrating the New Year with some kickass Irish folk. Sarah and Anthony.
In deep thoughtIn deep thought
In deep thought

....while sippin' on my gin and juice.


14th January 2009

es todo!!
When can I go visit??
28th January 2009

Rio De Janiero
Cool Bro, I've always wanted to visit Brazil. Its my dream. How long you planned on living there? For sure we are going to visit!

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0967s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb