Setting off for the job fair


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro » Centro
November 20th 2012
Published: November 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I am a school teacher. Last year I made the decision to teach internationally. My reason for this decision is based on the ambition to become fluent in Spanish. I teach beginning Spanish and feel the need to speak the language fluently in order to be the best teacher I can be. Latin Amercia is obviously my focus of countries where I want to teach in order to help me achieve this goal. Spain is pretty much out of the question because the pay is terrible. Central Amercia might be a good choice and certainly South America.

There are several steps you have to take in order to be considered for internation teaching. One of them is to sign up with an international job search service and typically, attend a job fair, where you meet with and interview with a number of different schools in hopes of being offered a job in one of the schools that happen to be your top picks.

In a few days I head out for my first ever international job fair and have my fingers crossed for a good contract with a school in Latin America that will help me achieve my Spanish fluency goal and pay enough that I can actually save a little money while I am on this adventure.

While purusing the jobs available on the international job search services websites, I ran across a terrific school in Brazil. The principal there wrote me back with interest in meeting me for an interview while at the job fair next week. I have looked into this school and the area and am very impressed. The only problem is that in Brazil, they speak Portuguese, not Spanish.

Check out my website http://www.latinamericateacher.com/ and follow me on my adventure.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.098s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb