Brazil: Rio de Janeiro


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro » Centro
February 1st 2008
Published: February 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

We are finally in Rio de Janeiro for Carnaval! Woohoo!

Our hotel is right in the centre of town and the shopping is wonderful! I bought a few dresses I wouldn´t normally wear but I couldn´t come to Rio and not buy some colourful dresses.

This morning we went to see the Christ The Redeemer statue. It was a clear day so my photos turned out pretty good. Then we went to a neighbouring mountain and took photos of the city and the big guy together.

Today is a good day because our tour officially ends and Carnavale officially begins. The energy is amazing, kind of like Mardi Gras but everyone here has a permatan. We bought feathers and glitter to spruce up our outfits for when we attend the parade on Sunday night. If it were in Sydney I would go more overboard with my costume but I´m limited due to my backpack space. Although I did manage to pick up a pair of clear wedge heels in La Paz for $30. What a bargain!

Tomorrow we plan to visit Copacabana Beach and have a few cocktails followed by bar hopping the gay bars along the beach. On Tuesday night there is the world famous Gay Ball which is supposed to be the best ball during Carnavale. I can´t wait to see the costumes!

The weather is perfect, the people are beautiful, the energy is electric -- this is what a holiday is all about!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb