Isle of Ilha Grande


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Ilha Grande
October 23rd 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The Main VillageThe Main VillageThe Main Village

Name escapes me
The Monday night was the ´"introduction meeting" of the GAP tour, I am "roomed" with a German gentleman called Tobias who I´m sure won´t mind me saying, is second only to me in terms of complaining about everything under the sun, still great guy who tolerates my lame roster of jokes and my particularness.

We left the Copacabana behind and Rio and after 2 weeks, well was not sorry to be leaving, over did Rio by
about 5 days perhaps but nevermind. We had an uneventfull pleasant enough drive down the coast at UK style driving standards to catch the cat to Ilha Grande. Were allowed to sit on the roof so yet another opportunity for me to burn. Isla Grande is a very fetching island to visit, though we were there at the quieter weekday period, I beleive it heaves at the weekends. The accomoadation to give GAP tours their due was amazing, Tobias and I had a balcony, hammock and I won the toss for the double bed, leaving Tobias to make do with the bunkbed.

The first night was a big meal on the beach getting to know everyone, inc our lovely leader from Buenos Aires, Maru, only only her second tour for GAP, and the poor thing has me to contend with. I do ask guides approximately 1000 questions a day as well as comment on everything under the sun, it´s my duty. The first full day was a boat trip where we were piled with ever stronger Caphrihanha, a brazillian drink that is full of sugar, lemon and some alcohol rum style that is horrible at first but soon numbs the taste senses. Some admittedlly mediocre snorkelling but we did enjoy swimming out to some fantastic little beaches.
My ipod playlist obsession still exists so at some point I kicked off the Mardi Gras music we were being subjected to by one overbearing gentleman and in kicked the DJ Robstas playlist.

Next day was a fantastic hike, short and sharp in hot sun over the hills to the amazing beach of Lopez Mendez. Sadly the sun faded on our arrival but it did not take away the splendour of the crashing surf in a mercifully rewarding and undeveloped spot. And it is clearly good for surfing if you´re that way inclined. Most of the group took a boat back but the faithfull Tobias
Lopex Mendez BeachLopex Mendez BeachLopex Mendez Beach

The Reward for a hike
and I with our good buddy Sam decided to hike back, it almost killed me with the Jungle heat, but my god we were pleased with ourselves we got back to the village and sat down to enjoy some quality coffee.

Obviously as I´m on a GAP tour I´m not in a position to advise independent travellers as such, but I´d definately say that Ilha Grande should be included in a Rio - Sao Paulo journey. There seemed to be plenty of accomodation and options availible but if coming at a weekend definately book ahead. Plenty of secluded beaches and rainforest etc if you want to escape, well GAP tours😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0779s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb