Last Day - or is it?


Advertisement
Published: July 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I´m going to the airport in a minute to change my ticket to stay here an extra day. If I don´t , I´ll have an extra day in Olinda that I don´t really need, whereas one extra day here will be excellent.
What a fantastic day yesterday was. I saw the other side of George: the skipper of the yacht. I realised that all these days hanging around, but I hadn´t seen one of the most important parts of the guy´s personality. It´s like knowing me without a guitar!
The day looked a bit cloudy again but we decided to go for it anyway. We took a little dinghy out to the sailboat about 11:00am. What a beauty! It is a french made boat from the 70´s that cuts through the waves strong and true. George, Bruno, and Carol have done a fantastic job refitting and repairing her.
The sun broke through, and suddenly we´re breezing along through blue crystaline waters, dazzling, beautiful light dancing in the water. We sail up past the main island to the northern tip of the island group, then curve around and sail all the way along the island to the southern tip.
On board there are fresh fish sizzling as Paulo catches one and we eat it, and he catches another. He laughs like he´s won the World Cup with each catch: a jubilant hunter returns in triumph. He has only a spool of fishing line, a lure, and a hook. Amazingly efficient pescadore!
It´s so lovely on board, I can´t tell you!
Literally. I´ve gotta go right now.
I´ll finish this and write back to everyone later,
love
mike


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



16th July 2008

amazing
Mike sounds and looks amazing I'd stay an extra week never mind an extra day. :) Enjoy. Can't wait for more. Marie
16th July 2008

Wow
Well, I must say I am a bit envious. Don't get me wrong, Steph and I have adjusted to island life quite well. We can't seem to leave the Gilis. Ever so quiet Meno and now Air (the food choices on Meno were getting old as there were so few facilities). As we crossed the channel between the islands we saw a huge Ozzy Yacht, and now there are 2 perched just off the shore here. Tell me, anything like the graceful swans we used to tool through the harbor in? lol Hope the ticket changing worked out and hope the amazon is as mind blowing as we thought it would be. We have a couple days left before heading to Ubud for souvenirs and then a couple days in a fat man's resort. It was all inclusive and pricey, but the lush in me is sure we will get our money's worth!! Where to go, what to do for 2 1/2 days...of to figure it out! The snorkeling and scuba here is truly phenomenal! Steph says hello and I think glowed a bit when she saw your boat. peace out
16th July 2008

Marie
I wish! mike
16th July 2008

Yacht
No dude, this thing is way bigger - it sleeps 10 comfortably below decks. Bloody fantastic spot of luck, truth be told. Back in Olinda, with my party going ways turning me into a minor celebrity, I feel at home. Tomorrow though it´s another new world. Glad to hear you´re having a great time. What are you doing after Steph leaves? mike

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0967s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb