Getting into the swing of things...


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Paraná » Curitiba
February 23rd 2005
Published: February 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,

Been fairly busy since the last entry. Rio was lots of fun, so much so that it was a kind of a groundhog day in the end - get drunk, sleep all day, rinse and repeat. Everyone was so knackered that they couldn´t be bothered to get on a bus but I got itchy feet and after 2 weeks of partying (yes, even me - managed a 9am finish once too!) I hopped on a bus to a small town a few hours from Rio called Paraty.

Whitewashed buildings and cobbled streets etc. Is a port so managed a couple of proper meals too - lovely fish. Stayed for a few days to relax - lots of meandering down said streets, boat trip around some islands, a day on a very quiet beach (Ipanema and its crowds a distant memory...)

The relaxation was cool but not much in the way of activities so then headed to the Pantanal wetlands with an Aussie chick. The journey to get there was very long (7hrs bus, 3 hrs wait for 15hr bus, then a couple of hours to get showerered then 8hr journey to Pantanal) and the company we went with were not exactly the most organised - but this is Brazil as I´m always reminded.... I also knew that the mozzies would be fierce but they went for me with relish, despite the extra strength repellant. The Pantanal was good though - boat trips, jeep rides (both on which I got a bit too much sun) and piranha fishing. The mozzie/ant bites and sun got to me a bit though.

After a few days there, I decided I needed to head toward a beach so hopped on a bus to Curitiba - a wealthy city in the south. Although a city, its on the way to the coast. I´m kinda realising I´m a city girl as I got excited at the sight of the tall buildings after the 16hr journey! I really like it here, a lovely and safe atmosphere - I´ve been wandering around with a map in one hand and a camera in the other and not felt vulnerable at all. Supposed to have a good nightlife but the hostel I´m in is a bit dull so it´s either sit in a bar on my own or early nights. Not such a bad thing though - I haven´t been pissed in 2 weeks! Lots of walking and sightseeing, went on a train trip through the mountains yesterday to a little village - nice but too expensive for what it was.

Anyway, tomorrow I head to Florianopolis which is a beach resort on the coast so hopefully some fun and sun.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb