Lima at a Glance, Sao Paulo, & on to Belem


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Pará » Belém
December 16th 2007
Published: December 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Entrance Hall of Hostel in LimaEntrance Hall of Hostel in LimaEntrance Hall of Hostel in Lima

A beautiful spacious old building with many large paintings, busts and statues.
Sunday 16th December:
It´s been a whistle stop flight journey over the last few days in my efforts to get back to Belem. As I couldn´t get a flight from Cuzco into Brazil, I went first to Lima (Peru´s international Airport). However the only flights into Brazil from there went to the south of the country. This Meant I had to fly down to Sao Paulo first before I could get a domestic flight north to Belem. I stayed in Lima overnight and had an evening tour of the city- very pretty. Plaza Mayor, the main square, was only a couple of blocks from the hostel. Lots of police and army around the square. The armoured tanks on either side of the Government building did not fit in with the larger than life Nativity Scene in the main courtyard there. Lots of Christmas shopping going on in the streets off the square; however little sign of police presence there. The hostel in Lima was amazing, a huge spacious rambling building (period town house) littered with large paintings, busts and statues (see photo). There were also ballroom size chandeliers and tropical trailing plants, giving the place a feeling of opulance.
After a
Plaza MayorPlaza MayorPlaza Mayor

The main square in Lima, just a few blocks away from the hostel
rushed breakfast next morning I went to the airport (incredible traffic and pollution on the way) and caught the ´plane to Sao Paulo. Problems with payment of the ticket as GOL´s electronic system wouldn´t accept any credit cards, nor would they take travellers cheques. I had to get out cash for them. ´Bought a book to read as I anticipated some waiting around - I was right! When I got to Sao Paulo, it was nearly midnight. I had some difficulty getting a flight from there up to Belem. Eventually I found one leaving at 6:45 the next morning from a different airport. I got a transfer bus across to the other airport which gave me just under three hours to kill to the flight time. Not enough time to find a hotel and have some sleep, so made my way to the check-in area to find a comfortable seat. The airport seating was designed so that people could not sleep on them, so read my book.
I got a little sleep on the ´plane to Brasilia which was the first connection on the way to Belem. I changed planes there and had one further stop on the way. By
Guarding the Government BuildingGuarding the Government BuildingGuarding the Government Building

This armoured truck was one of two, which seemed at odds with the Christmas scene all around.
the time I reached Belem on Saturday afternoon I was tired; the people at the airport tourist information were helpful and booked the hotel for me - a better standard then the one I previously stayed in. Between the travelling and Belem´s heat/humidity I badly needed a shower and freshening up - also had an hour´s sleep. Afterwards I had a wander downtown along the riverside, old station and port (brought back memories). As it was the weekend it was quieter than when I was here previously. ´Phoned Lucio, Diego and Georgette to make arrangements to meet up.
Lucio arrived at the hotel this morning and gave me a present of a signed copy of his newly published book on eco-tourism in the locality. We arranged to meet for a meal this evening.
Tomorrow morning my flight back to Miami is booked. Kathryn will meet me there and we will fly on to Heathrow (London) on Tuesday.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Belem, some things don´t change!Belem, some things don´t change!
Belem, some things don´t change!

´Though quieter as it was the weekend, the number of homeless, sleeping rough was incredible.


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb