O beija flor and other little birds


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Minas Gerais » Ouro Preto
January 13th 2009
Published: January 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday, I said I would write about Ouro PrĂȘto and upload some of my pictures, however, I shall have to renege on that promise, as my sprained ankle has been a bit worse. I have decided to take it easy (after all, I have 7 months) and stay at the hotel to rest my foot.

As I was not really capable of moving around too much, I simply stayed on the hammock on the hostel terrace this morning, read a bilingual edition of portuguese short stories, reading out loud so as to get used to speaking the language. Also, as I had a lot of time on my hands, I took my new (and from now on well hidden) camera and took pictures of the many birds which fly around it. So this is what you'll get today. I must add that as many know, my knowledge of fauna and flora is pretty aweful, so I am incapable of giving the birds' names (except an easy one). I might ask Aidan for help on that. And also, I realised that a very good zoom would have been useful in taking these pictures. But I used the material I had, and this is a small selection of what I took.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Yellow bird on fake flowersYellow bird on fake flowers
Yellow bird on fake flowers

But a great way of lurring them for pictures
Um beija florUm beija flor
Um beija flor

The elusive hummingbird, difficult to catch with a camera as it hovers only a couple of seconds in front of the flowers and then zooms off
Another beija florAnother beija flor
Another beija flor

Which translates rather poetically as "flower-kisser"


13th January 2009

Oups
Just realised that the yellow bird on fake flower was the wrong way around. Sorry!
13th January 2009

I hope your ankle gets better! and thanks for writing so honestly, it's nice to know how life is there, in all its aspects, even the less enjoyable ones. But what's with the jam?! Bisous
13th January 2009

Good shot
Agreed. They're not easy to photograph, the hummingbirds, yet you've done a pretty good job. Some good photographer's skill there. Can't name the other birds. never seen them. Is this what distracted you when you were getting mugged then?
14th January 2009

Jam
hmmm.... I like the look of that Jam! Lx
14th January 2009

general...
just to let you know I'm reading... also tough break about being robbed, I think not being stabbed was the right decision though. hope the ankle gets better soon - take it easy, you've got all year!

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb