Quite day in Belo


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Minas Gerais » Belo Horizonte
September 17th 2009
Published: September 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Thursday
Another day started with a trip to the Docs. Jackie got almost all of the stitches removed and looks pretty much back to normal. Except she looks like a teenager. I hope he did not misunderstand me when I told him in my poor Portuguese that I wanted her to look like when I met her. Maybe he thought we went to the same high school.
Anyway, we walked back from the clinic to the hotel. The weather here is wonderful. Each day starts about 66 degrees and heats up to about 85. And the humidity is low. There is usually a slight breeze making it ideal.
For lunch Maria picked us up and drove us to her condo. We got to see her empregada (maid), Vera. She is the sister of ours, Gloria. We have not yet seen Gloria but hope to before we leave. They keep the house clean, wash and dry and iron the clothes and cook. Yes, that is what happened to Jackie. She refuses to do those things for me anymore.
After lunch we walked through the shopping mall across the street, Patio Savassi. We thought about doing another movie but changed our minds. We
The Praca da LiberdadeThe Praca da LiberdadeThe Praca da Liberdade

We walked up to "Liberty Park" and took a few photos there. This is across the street form where the Minas Gerais Governor works. It is a large and beautiful park, very European in style.
basically returned to the hotel for more rest. I did the blog and worked some more with my Smith Barney advisor, Dave, to get the doctor paid. We did a wire transfer so that I did not have to cash in the traveler’s checks. I hope it goes through okay.
I also finished one piece of art and started another. I hope I have more time to do several but that remains to be seen. We plan to go to our old tennis club on Friday and that may be our primary focus on the remainder of our stay.
We decided late that we would go for a walk in the area. In Savassi, there is a street party every Thursday night. We walked near the party but decided to skip for this week. Maybe next week when Jackie feels more like partying we’ll return. We did end up at my old favorite bar, Sushi Beer (formerly Top Beer). Jackie has wanted to have the dish she always ordered here, Frango na chapa. This is a dish of grill chicken breast in small pieces with onion and cheese served on a very hot plate…sizzling. We had it and it was
Band stand in ParkBand stand in ParkBand stand in Park

Behind the bandstand is a museum under renovation.
good as ever. Of course, I had a few caiprinhas to go with it.
Tchau…





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

This building is on the squareThis building is on the square
This building is on the square

It is famous for its architect. His name is Oscar Niemeyer (not sure of spelling).
RetornoRetorno
Retorno

There is a story behind this sign. It is important part of life in Belo. Think about it for a while. I'll explain later.
Sidewalk imagesSidewalk images
Sidewalk images

I think if I take many more of these Jackie's going to slap me. But this was a red head! Coundn't resist for Rich.
Cute CoupleCute Couple
Cute Couple

Here we are at Top Beer for another caiprinha. Jackie is getting more willing for the close up camera shots.


18th September 2009

Where is the red head??
Unfortunately, it did not post....perhaps too many caiprinhas?
18th September 2009

what a life, what a life!!
your food and drink choices sound yummy. Could you sneak some of those back on the plane with you? xox P.

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0824s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb