1st brazilian post


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Bahia » Salvador
February 23rd 2011
Published: February 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

hola my friends !

Today I arrived in Brazil !

To do so, I had to take a flight a 6.50 this morning from Buenos Aires to Rio de Janeiro, and then another one from Rio to Salvador, with 2 different airlines.
As you may remember, everytime I have a flight to grab, since the beginning of my trip, I almost missed it. There is no exception here.
This time I left the hotel way in advance to make sure I will be on time. So the taxi came at 4.00am. After 5 minutes we had to stop because the car was overheating (Thanks Renault..). Another taxi picked me up and we drove 40 minutes to the airport. And at the airport, guess what ? I wasthe wrong one !! There are 2 airports in B.A, a major one for international flights and a smaller one mainly for domestic flights. Of course my flight was scheduled for the small one... So I got another taxi and I dont know if you remember the movie TAXI with Samy Nacery but it was more or less the same. The driver was going super fast to make sure I will get my flight, almost flying over other cars (but unlike my dear friend Samy this one had no wings or spoilers) and almost burning the engine !! Thanks God I made it on time for Rio. I just did 90km for nothing...
But I was planning to get my luggage transfered directly to Salvador, which is easy with the same airline, and apparently here not possible with 2 different ones. With only 1h30 between flights, time to go through the customs, get my luggage, run around the Rio airport (you know, one of the biggest in South America..), I arrived just 2 minutes before they closed the check-in !! Lucky again !!

Antoine came to pick me up, and we drove to his place. First thing: the beach. Yeah, I have to tell you that Antoine lives next to the beach, with ocean view from his terrace. Very nice house, I have my own bedroom and a private bathroom. Better than any hotels I went to !!
So the beach is just amazing: Empty, clean, with clear sand and nice waves. The sea is almost too hot. But I will manage, dont worry guys...

It starts just perfectly !! Tomorrow we will go the the old center (Antoine lives in the North) and then let's see !! No plans...
I post pics as soon as I can.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.4kb