Holiday within a Holiday


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Bahia » Salvador
November 23rd 2010
Published: December 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Club Med ItaparicaClub Med ItaparicaClub Med Itaparica

There is a natural coral reef protecting the beach so the water was as warm as a bath!
Schools out for summer! I managed two weeks at the language school and as nice as it was, I got itchy feet and had to get out of the classroom, so my Portuguese is still terrible! I'm back dating a few blogs as I haven't written for a while...

Two weeks into this trip and I hit my first brickwall, provoked for a number of reasons; upset tummy, it falling on a Sunday when I usually seeing my parents every week, and the reality hitting me about what I am actually doing. All I could think, was that ‘you are definitely not in Kansas anymore Dorothy’!. But I wasn’t daunted, compared to the mountain I had climbed to get here this obstacle in front of me now seemed pretty pathetic. There had been a fundamental shift in me as soon as my plane took off from Heathrow and my head realised that it was no longer the boss and that my heart had won hands down. But of course, the human ego doesn’t like that too much, so at a moment of vulnerability, it started to rear it’s head again and it’s speciality, fear and doubt started to pose their
Club Med ItaparicaClub Med ItaparicaClub Med Itaparica

I think my white Grecian style outfit is quite fitting for the Archery lesson
questions....so really, well done for quitting your job in the middle of a recession, you have no possessions only your back pack, your money will run out sometime, you are relying on the kindest of others and who do you think you are to come to Brazil on your own, and think you have the strength to travel the whole world in this manner, with your hair tied back you look about 12 years old. My heart calmly turned round and carefully removed each brick one by one, from the wall built by the ramblings of my mind. And when this was completed over the course of the day, I, of course, went to the shopping centre, bumped into my friends and arranged to go on a trip with one of them the following weekend, relieved to have some company.
It was Begonia’s last weekend on 19th November and she had looked at going to Club Med on Itaparica, a holiday island, 50 minutes by boat from Salvador. It was perfect timing for me too, as I just needed to relax (yes I know, I am on one big holiday, but it is hard in lots of ways, it gives new meaning to being out of my comfort zone). So when she asked if I would like to join her I didn’t hesitate in treating myself to my ‘holiday within a holiday’ as my Dad called it. It will come as no surprise, that two days in a beautiful all inclusive resort, gave me all the relaxation I needed. It was also important for me to spend time with someone whose company I enjoyed and could relax in. We had many laughs, too much food, too many cocktails and almost danced too much even for me. We got to do archery and hang upside down on a flying trapeze (after we had slept off lunch and cocktails in a hammock otherwise it could have been messy). Two days to relax in secure surrounding was enough and we returned to Salvador with big smiles on our faces.

Begonia left to go back to the freezing cold USA on the Sunday and on Monday, entered into my life another wonderful friend Nicola. She tempted me to join her for a Caipirinha on Monday and we got on very well straight away with talk of our disastrous love life and love of ice cream. She wanted to do a little travelling around but didn’t have the confidence to go on her own so I invited her to join me in Praia do Forte the following weekend as I was leaving to go there on Wednesday to meet Dani's friend, Léo. Which bring me on to another new chapter in the story of my life.



Advertisement



8th December 2010

Yellow Brick Road
To say how brave you have been is putting it mildly, there are not many girls would do what you have done, and I am sure there are many who envy you, do not doubt yourself, you have as they say "made it", the initial apprehension must now be over for you, you seemed to have made wonderful friends (despite your big white knickers) and I'm sure you will carrying on meeting and making more friends along the way, you are that type of girl, pity Begonia has gone, I love that name, I told your Mum when I come back in the next life, that is what I want to be named, in fact I might encourage Stef to call her next baby (no she is not pregnant) if its a girl Begonia, lol lol lol. As you say life seems one big holiday at the moment, have you set yourself a time when you think you might have to look for work, although I reckon you should find yourself a millionaire hunk, and be a lady of leisure, what are the "blokes" like by the way. Must say young lady I was a little upset on learning you are no longer going to your classes, that means all the stuff I have learnt will be no good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! pity, lol lol lol So keep on following the "Yellow brick Road" and have your adventures, just like Dorothy, yes I know it was not plain sailing for her, as you probably know it wont be for you at times, but keep on following it, who knows where it will lead you. Oh dear I think I have got a bit "deep and meaningful, but I think you will understand where I am coming from.xx
9th December 2010

Red Shoes
I do very much know where you are coming from, thank you for your message, it is always good to have a little reconfirmation from someone like you about what I am doing. I have so much to tell in my next blog. I am so overwhelmed about it all but hopefully I will find the right words this evening. I think you will like it. Don´t worry, I have to learn some more Portuguese, as it is so frustrating not being able to communicate fully, so you will still get some practice! xx
3rd January 2011

After some time ...
Hi Lyana!!!! After coming back to this terrible frezzing weather, I have been working an intense holiday season that left me with so little time (or non at all) to enjoy the festivities. And finally today i had the opportunity to read your blog. I had no idea how you felt before our little holiday, but now i´m even happier that we tooked it! As you already know it was the perfect closure of my trip and now I know you needed it too! I´m super happy that you went back to school too! At least a month of lessons is what I would recomend. That way you are surrounded by more people in the same situation that you are. And you keep finding amazing companion for your journey. Have an amazing 2011!!! Keep us updated on your itinerary and enjoy every second of that hot and steaming country (in every way ) And Marie, thank´s for the all the compliments on the name. You gave me a priceless smile!!! Cheers from a mexican buried in tons of snow in Aspen!!!! :)
3rd January 2011

Frozen Mexican
Hey! Lovely to hear from you but sorry to hear that you were so ´snowed under´when you got home! (Bad joke!). Salvador is getting even hotter (in every way) and you would love it here now. I will keep you updated via the blog! I hope you have a amazing 2011 too. x

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0742s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb