An unforgettable neighborhood


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Bahia » Salvador
February 20th 2006
Published: March 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


HostelHostelHostel

A deserted building attached to my hostel
I arrived to Salvador, and took a taxi to the hostel.
When I told the taxi driver the address, in San Anotnio region, he was a little bit surprised.
I asked him if it´s a good hostel, and he said 'more or less'. At this point I started to worry.
The neighborhood looked pretty scary to me - some ruined houses,
and the hostel itself didn't look to well.
But after checking in, I relaxed because the hostel was run by Israelis, and it was like 'Migdal Bavel' over there - people from all around the world - Australian, Canadian, German, British and of course Israelis.
It was really interesting to talk with them.

Later Rafael (a friend who lives in Salvador, whom I met later in Moro De Sau Paulo), told me that I was crazy to sleep in that region and it's almost a favela (favela is a name for slum neighborhoods in Brazil, where the poorest population leaves, mostly in the big cities, and where the local police is afraid to enter).




Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

'View''View'
'View'

The view from my room


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1021.4kb