Carnival


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Bahia » Salvador
February 6th 2008
Published: February 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

What now
Just finished the carnival, and writing this at 7 in the morning after coming back from the last party because I am waiting for breakfast(Its about time I try it, its very good, if I remember correctly).
Met loads of cool people in the hostel and will probably join a few for wherever I´ll go next. Anyways it will be much quieter, safer and more relax then the Carnival, I need a vacation.

Carnival
What will I take from the carnival?
Is it the biggest party in the world? Or the poverty who surrounds it?
Is it the Beautiful music which I´ve never heard before and with which I fell in love? Or the combined smell of beer, sweat and pees, such as I have never smelled before?
Is it the joy and happiness, the amazing people, so friendly and expecting, that I could communicate with so many in the international language of dance(And hooo hooo, when ever that part of the song came)? or the violence that so frequently occurs?
Is it the amazing sites I have seen? or the fact that I could take no pictures cause if I bring anything more then some change for drink and food it will get stolen?
Is it the crazy "boxing" dance that many locals do around? Or the fact that some of them just start boxing?
Is it the great people I met(and the great people I came with - some I know all the way from Israel) or...(Ran out of disadvantages)
A once in a life time experience that I will not soon forget.

Memories that will not soon be forgotten
Dancing along the trucks for the first time.
Dancing in the water with friends.
Dancing on the beach with Brazilians from all ages(6-40) and some friends, learning new dances including the famous boxing dance.
Dancing with along side Japanese drummers, a dance that appear more then all like an African rain dance.
Dancing with 20 people from the hostel, and starting my own Limbo, using my left hand
Dancing in the fat boy slim Bloco, with more then 30 people in different groups, moving from one to another.
So basically, lots of dancing.

Bridge to the world
there are many differences between, different cultures, different religions, different clothing, different appearances,
But one thing unite us all, and in the carnival U can smell it better then anywhere else, we all pis, and allot.

Dr Jakel and Mr Hide.
For 8-10 hours a day I danced, the ones of U who saw me dancing know it demands allot.
for 14-16 hours I was a zombie, either a sleep or just wondering around doing nothing.
Carnival, incase you are wondering, is not an easy task

כובע כובעון, הפוך אותי לסופרבן, קוקו וצ´וקולוקולוקו
In the carnival there are people wearing special Tshirts.
these tshirts will give U entarance to either the Camarete or the bloco(The are around the trucks so U´ll be closer to the music and maybe safer)
On the 4th day, there were loads of people that not only were wearing matching tshirts but also a very weird looking hat.
After further watching I noticed that almost when ever I see people kissing(which happens quite often) the guy is one of the strange hat people.
So I wonder, does the hat has some sort of magic in it? Or is it just the Brazilian temptation class?

A question
I´m dancing and some big black guy stop me and signals me if I want to start a fight.
I mark "no" and keep on walking.
What should I feel now? upset for almost getting into a fight or happy thathe was polite enough to ask?

Another question
Why do so many gay man and ugly Brazilian girls find me attractive?

Quotes of the day
1. "Whats in here? Where am I? what is this stupid accent that U speak in?
Morning after carnival, things get confused
2. "I'm not gay I'm just cheap"
For some reason, the gay camarates are cheaper then regular, so we though of going.
3. "I love waking up to the fresh smell of pis"
4. "Pis will unite us all, when Israelis and Palestinians pis an X together there will be no war"
5. "How can you not tak it personally? I´m talking about you as a person"
When drunk, people can be very stupid
6. "I can´t speak Portugese"
"You can speak the international language of love"
"But still we have missunderstandings"
7. "A gentleman never tells, especially when nothing happens"
8. "I still need to do Rio, the Brazilian and the Panatanal"
A friend´s plan for the remainder of his trip.
9. "Haven´t you learned from experience?"
"Stop burning your friends"



Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb