Week Six...


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Bahia » Lençóis
October 13th 2009
Published: October 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello all!

Sorry for the silence over past weeks, I´ve been very busy here but I´m alive, well and happy!

I celebrated my 21st birthday on the 2nd October and my friends here threw me a surprise party on the banks of the river, with cake, candles, balloons and a few caipirinhas too! I´d had a lovely day with the kids, Friday is games day so we played a big game of twister and it was all nice and relaxed. Two of my friends also took me out for dinner so I have been really spoilt lately!

Work as been tough too. I´m definately past the honeymoon period with the kids - I´m not a novelty anymore so they don´t always behave themselves as they should. One of them bit me the other day. But generally I´m still loving working with them.

I went on my first trek on Sunday. Its a crime to be in this beautiful national park and not have strayed beyond Lençois. I went on a trip called Marimbus, you go 1 hour by car to a former settlement of runaway slaves, then 1 1/2 hours by boat downriver. Its amazingly tranquil and beautiful (especially after a week with screaming kids!) You then arrive at a huge very noisy waterfall called the Snoring River, and scarmble up rocky outcrops to bathe at the top. It was lovely, and I´m hoping to do another trek soon.

That´s all for now, more soon!

x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.073s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb