Tchau Sao Paulo


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Amazonas » Manaus
July 8th 2007
Published: May 2nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

So how did I find my first experience of Brazil?

To be honest there is not much to do for a solo traveller in Sao Paulo. Its a huge city with a population of 10 million. I was advised to not walk around much as it can be dangerous also. Although I did manage to see a small part of the city - and also catch a football game.

The last few days I've just relaxed at the hotel by the pool and managed to book myself on a few city tours. One was by day on a small bus. We wasn't allowed to leave it, but did manage to see some sites. The other tour was a night tour and I was picked up at the hotel and driven around in a huge sixty seater bus. Just me, the driver and the guide.

On the plus side of all this, I have met a great guy who runs the hotel restaurant. He's looked after me these last few days and was even so kind to get me tickets for a local football game. After a few.. 'no no... its too dangerous'. And me saying, 'surely you can sort something?'. He eventually gave in and gave his head chef the evening off to accompany me.

It was an experience that's for sure. The game was Corinthians FC (Sao Paulo) Vs Fluminese (Rio de Janeiro). The chef Edmundo was a huge Corinthian fan and had never been to a game before. His delight was obvious when he arrived from the kitchen after being told he had the night off and a free ticket to watch his boyhood team. I will never forget the huge bear hug I received.

The game was intense and finished 1-1. There was a huge protest about the owners and a fair bit of trouble, but I got out safely. All in all it was a great experience and a nice ending to my visit to Sao Paulo.

Next stop Manuas...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.029s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1009.8kb