I think I need to live near mountains


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia
June 14th 2007
Published: June 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Villa Serrano is turning out to be a beautiful place (even without hot water). Although I was apprehensive at first when we got here just over 2 weeks ago, I´m really liking it. Very laid back and the weather has been absolutely gorgeous almost every day: blue skies, very few clouds and really nice warm days. Nights are cold for sure, but it´s bearable (and certainly FAR different from Canadian winters! We once mentioned that Canada had snow in the winter and everyone was shocked. They think it´s cold here with 20 degree weather! lol

The town is surrounded by hills/mountains and really pretty, especially in the mornigns when there is a mist that covers them and reminds me somewhat of the Rockies (although sans snow). In terms of our project.... well... they seem to really like us being here because we are apparently ¨so helpful¨... which is basically that we do internet research for them and answer questions about different things, mainly computers and how to open documents or the such. It´s quite funny as they think we´re computer geniuses because we can open up word and search for things! The people are really nice though and although most of the students are a few years younger than us, we all get along really well and some are even attending our English classes twice a week. Although, one thing I learned last class: Don´t teach a Bolivian the phrase ´´ I love you´´ because they´ll repeat it over and over and over to you with your name at the end lol. We also just (as in about 1 hour ago) met the only 2 other volunteers in this tiny town. They´re with the Peace Corps and have been here a year and a half. They´re so nice and offerred us baked goods and a hot shower if we wanted one (and gave us chocolate chip cookies!! It was like heaven in a cookie... boy do I miss those!). That´s the one thing about here... meals tend to be very monotonous. Although I love rice and potatoes, I´m beginning to think that having those every day for both lunch and dinner is not exactly what I want and already am planning my first meal back home which will consist of a nice juicy veggie burger from HARVEY´s!!

This Friday there is a festival with a bunch of traditional dances which will be really neat I think. We´ve seen some of the ones the students at CEITHAR have been practising and some are amazing. One especially, had a couple of the guys dressed up with feathers and spears and did a very, what I thought, was a North American Native dance, but with a lot more jumping haha. That one was definitely my favourite! They´ve also been trying to teach us to dance, although, with my two left feet, I don´t catch on too well.

I´m beginning to think though that I may not want to leave... although that doesn´t stop me from wanting the Brazillian beaches!!!

P.S. While having been here in the internet cafe for just over an hour, the Titanic song has now played twice! lol

Advertisement



15th June 2007

Ya you definately will have too much trouble with your inability to dance :P

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb