Back to my birth place


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Santa Cruz Department » Santa Cruz
February 22nd 2011
Published: February 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hola!

I am writing to you from Los Tajibos Hotel, one of the most beautiful and relaxing places on earth! I am so lucky to be staying here for about a week. This is the first time i've had a real vacation all by myself in my adult life. I'm taking my time here in Santa Cruz to relax and plan for what is ahead.. which is a whole lot of traveling!

Santa Cruz is a tropical city in Bolivia, and it is where I was born 20 years ago. I am mainly here to reconnect with family members that I haven't seen in 4 years. I realized a lot has changed since my last visit, namely that there are 3 new additions to the extended family, and that my nieces and nephews (2nd cousins by American terms) have grown so much! Its great to see that I have a beautiful and warm family in a beautiful and warm location. I will be here for another two nights, then I am heading back to La Paz for about a week before I go to study in Buenos Aires.

I'm starting to enjoy traveling on my own. Anyone who
Rainbow from my room windowRainbow from my room windowRainbow from my room window

It's rainy season right now, so the climate is hot and humid. I could do without the rain, but the rainbow afterward is like a little apology!
knows me well knows that I am rarely separate from friends or family (I like sharing experiences with other people- i'm an extrovert) .. but flying solo isn't all that bad. Sometimes its hard for me to just sit back and enjoy doing nothing, especially since I feel like I always have to be doing something productive or I am "wasting time" (any Middkids out there know exactly what I am talking about). South America teaches me how to slow down and just enjoy time, which doesn't mean I am wasting it. Even though I am resting, my mind still anticipates what is ahead: Buenos Aires, Palestine, Turkey. I'm trying to keep myself in one place at one time, but i'm so excited for everything (that's the little kid in me still).

On a side-note, I am extremely excited for MY BIG SISTER AIDA's WEDDING! It's in April, so that means I have to fly back to RI for one weekend then return to Buenos Aires in time for classes, but I would travel twice around the world to make her special day!

I'm gonna go catch some rays before the sun goes down (i'm hoping to tan over this burn- note to self, generously lather on the sun block this time).

Until next time,

Nejla



Advertisement



22nd February 2011

Besides being your birth place, Santa Cruz is the city where most of our extended family members in Bolivia live. Make the most of this great opportunity to enjoy some down time in a beautiful, relaxed setting. You're quite right in commenting that often we're so busy in our daily lives (specially in the U.S.) that we're at a loss when it comes to enjoying some quiet moments. We have to learn to enjoy life rather than constantly spinning around the wheel like a hamster!!
23rd February 2011

Love you!
Nej! I love you and so happy that you're enjoying your travels. Please send my love to the family. I can't wait to see you in April. Big hug...xoxo

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb