El Fin


Advertisement
Published: December 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am sitting in an Internet cafe in Santa Cruz Bolivia, making one last entry into this travel blog. Yesterday I parted with my new friends (again) and left Sucre with mixed feelings of sadness and excitement as I realized I was heading to my final destination and departure point. So here I am, reflecting on a full 15 weeks of travel, not knowing what the future holds for me. What I do know is 1) I´m moving back to Sebastopol for a time 2) I´ve spent every last penny to my name 3) I look forward to catching up with mi familia y amigos 4) I don´t know a whole lot . . . but that will come 😊

I anticipate a feeling that I´ve been in some strange time warp. . . like a dream. . . for the past 4 months and as soon as I land in San Francisco Friday evening I´ll feel as though I never left. It´s happened nearly every time I´ve travelled. I enter the life I´ve always known and realize that there´s no way to sum up or immediately comprehend my experiences over here. When people ask "how was South America?" I can honestly answer "amazing" and not be offended if we leave it at that. I´ll have plenty of photos, emails of new friends from around the world, a journal (or 3) I´ve filled up with thoughts feelings descriptions etc, and the ability to speak a whole lot more Spanish than before I left.

The past few weeks in Sucre I spent meeting more amazing people, trekking in the mountains, eating mangoes in Las Pampas, living with a family, taking some more Spanish classes, and enjoying a very tranquilla city. There weren´t as many people in the language school as there were in Quito back in September, but the people who were there spent every evening together. . . eating, laughing, and chatting about everything and anything.

So here I sit--- satisfied, curious, content--- ready for the unknown.

Chao Besos Amor de
Erin

Advertisement



7th December 2006

all those who wander are not lost
I know exactly what you mean, as Im sure others have this feeling too. This feeling that you could never, ever relate all the things you saw and experienced- and you wouldn't necessarily want to share them. I go backpacking alone frequently, and when I return home and people ask me how it was, I say "great!" or "fantastic!". Other people I know would go into a 2 hour monologue about their experiences, what they saw and did. but me? Im content in internalizing the experience, forever cherishing it for what it is truly worth- self-enrichment, exploration of this wonderful world we live in, timeless and fulfilling. I tend to think that people who talk incessantly about experiences or vacations do it just for the stories. I suppose by talking about this I have exposed myself- One could argue I travel just to take pictures. I like to think that the pictures I take should do all the story-telling. When someone asks, "How was your vacation to Chile?" I say- "Awesome, whats your email and Ill send you the pictures" and I leave it at that... If you ever need help readjusting to the Bay let me know, Im in Santa Clara! you know, travelling is what you make of it, and theres no reason you cant continue your adventurous spirit and zest for life back at home, same as if you are on the road. Cheers! S
14th December 2006

Ah, I'm looking forward to seeing you when you get back. Infusions decompression? (I'd write more, but I'm in the middle of finals right now - aiee! Wish me luck, my dear). Mm, and I WON'T be back for the St. Dot's reunion - I fly in about a week later. I could have made it work, but that would involve unnecessary stress and besides, as much as I dig the St. Dot's crew, I'd much rather just chill out here, taking baths and visiting lovers for a few days. I fly in on the 22nd and should be there for about 2.5 weeks. I'll give you a call (or you call me). Ciao bella!

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb