all pooped out


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Santa Cruz Department » Samaipata
February 25th 2008
Published: February 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Here we are in high up Samiapta, 1400 meters above sea level. The oxygen is thin, the air is cool, the mountains breathtaking. But unfortunately, the oxygen wasnt thick enough for my poor Ohio body and I eventually became aware of the wonderful gift of altitude sickness. At first I felt as if I were high, everything went by so slow, and everything was wonderfully, wonderful. Then fever hit, dizziness came, and somewhere, somehow I caught the much awaited and infamous Traveller´s Diarrhea 😊 So, afterall, we havent seen much of Samiapata because I have shared my few days here with my oh so comfy bed and welcoming toliet 😊 I smile because getting sick always forces me to slow down, to reflect spending all those hours in bed, and to be in solidarity with all the sick in the world....Due to Becky´s healing nursing and sisterly love (and the enormous amonts of drugs we lugged along for this trip), I am feeling much, much, much better....and we are hoping to see El Fuerte tomorrow, which is an enormous rock in the heart of the Andes foothills full of religious carvings and remnants of a village that dates back to 3000-1000 b.c.!!!!!

So, dear loved ones, do not worry...I am well but most definitely missed my mommy who is and will always be the best and most beloved nurse in my life 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb