Ending in the Amazonea


Advertisement
Published: December 20th 2022
Edit Blog Post

I spent my last weekend in the northern part of Amboro National Park which is the entrance to the Amazonea. I had two days here so one day we went looking for wildlife and the other day I did a 6 hour trek to Mararacu Waterfalls.

I stayed at a small family owned resort on the border of the park. They had lots of animals living on their ranch including peacocks who slept up in the lighted tree which was beautiful to watch.

I came back to Santa Cruz in time for the big World Cup game. I was at a bar full of Argentinian fans so it was an exciting environment to watch them win. You could hear parties and fireworks for the rest of the night.

While my time here has come to an end, my work has not. As I wait for my plane I am writing a lesson plan for the class on Thursday. The organization is still looking for someone to take over for me, but in the meantime I will continue to prepare lessons for the groups.

This part of my trip is bittersweet. I’m anxious to get home to see friends, family (and of course Lola!) that I have missed. But, I am also sad to leave the men and women I have been working with, new friends I have made, and a city that started to feel like home.



Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb