Bolivia


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Potosí Department » Uyuni
May 12th 2006
Published: May 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Fish IslandFish IslandFish Island

Basically a coral island in the middle of the salt plains where there grow giant cacti!!
Bolivia was very busy for me. I started off in the small town of Tupiza where I watched a very entertaining film about Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid. Relevant for the reference to Bolivia it was a very- very funny film, although I don't think it was meant to be a comedy. Anyone who hasn't seen it should rent it and have a really good laugh at the absolutely fantastic acting involved!!

At the salt plains of the Salar de Uyuni it was my chance at some funny photos and to search for the giant cacti. They weren't very hard to find coz they were huge!!! Sort of weird that the cacti and the coral are actually growing out here in the middle of nowhere.

Heading north from Uyuni, I have stopped in the towns of Sucre, Potosi, and La Paz which is the highest 'capital' city in the world. It was here that I got lost in the witches market and once again had to be rescued, this time from someone trying to sell me as a good luck charm.

It was also here that I was shoved in a pocket and taken for a terrifying ride down death road. Managed to make it to the end alive thank goodness even after landing in a river at the end. The silly twit that was pedalling the bike FORGOT TO PEDAL whilst going through the water and we all got wet! Next time I will ride my own bike. On the way down I did manage to meet a new friend, Kiwi, but he was enoying the ride a little more than me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

SunriseSunrise
Sunrise

I was woken very early in the mornng to see the sunrise over the salt plains. It was worth the effort though - very spectacular.
La PazLa Paz
La Paz

Looking out over the city of La Paz with Mt. Illimani in the background.
La Paz Death RoadLa Paz Death Road
La Paz Death Road

I was shoved in a pocket and taken down Death Road at horrific speeds, am glad I couldn't see where I was going.
With my new mate KiwiWith my new mate Kiwi
With my new mate Kiwi

Soaked after falling into a river at the end of Death Road, but alive!!!


Tot: 0.306s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb