Uyuni, Bolivia


Advertisement
Published: March 31st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Uyuni is... well pretty dusty, It's a small town in the desert so I don't know what I expected. I found a nice tour agency, they were more expensive and by this I mean like $25.00. The Solar Uyuni is something you should all do. It's plenty of driving and endless expanses. The first day we went to the salt flats and I met my travel companions. We had a temporary person that was only at the flats with us, Armie,was from the Philippines and she is in our epic jumping photo. Then there was Emma and Nick from London and Marin and Ray from Japan. They were all easy going, I lucked out. Our guide Jamie was great and had a way of telling jokes without laughing. The three days we spent together in the 4x4 went fast. Lagoons of various colors some very toxic but beautifull. Flamingos hanging out just passed good photo range. Snow seemed so close all the time, just a short hike, but of corse was a lot further and higher. The last night we slept at nearly 16,000 ft. Hot springs and volcanoes were in the area. We all went to some hot springs on the last night. I walk down with a head lamp and when i reached the water was stopped short by myriad of stars. They were so close. We all saw at least one shooting star, just sitting in the warm water

The next morning showed us how high we were when we waited for the sun to rise and it took 45 minutes for the sun to get over the horizon and join the light we already were already in.

The next few days I went back to La Paz to catch a plane. I had a layover in Santa Cruz and wished that I had more time but my final destination was Salta, Argentina.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb