Un festival en Sopocachi


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
October 22nd 2006
Published: November 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, a few dys have passed now and finally the feeling of breathlessness is mostly gone when walking up stairs and hills (as the city is full of them). After walking around for a while though, it takes all the energy out of me. I have been exploring the city more in my free time and I must that I am sure that I will really enjoy it here. La Paz is a beautiful city and so far the weather has been great! I thought it was suppose to be rainy season 😊

Alejandro, Lisa and I have been to the CUSO office a few times now for general orientation. I am a man without identification for a couple weeks while my work visa is being processed. Hopefully none of those fake policeman that I read about in all the books ask for my passport 😊 The staff at the CUSO office here in Bolivia have been very helpful and extremely friendly. One of the staff members took us to the black market (el mercado negro) to buy cell phones. I would never think that I would buy a illegaly imported telephone, but that seems to be the way that
Plaza AvaroaPlaza AvaroaPlaza Avaroa

This seems to be the main plaza in Sopocachi, the area of town that I live in. Very nice and clean plaza where it seems like families meet up on Sundays.
things are done in Bolivia. My cell phone came from Peru 😊

I have now met with my new boss, Gustavo, and discussed what I will be doing while I am working in Bolivia. Not to sure what he really wants me to do yet, but that´s okay, I´m sure that will come with time once I start working. The staff were I´ll be working are really friendly and seem interested in working with me. I was fortunate enough during my visit to find out that they have a six o´clock snack in the office which always consists of bread and sometimes cheese, meat, or dulce de leche to go with it.

My first weekend here consisted of one day just laying around because my stomach decided that it did not want to cooperate with the rest of my body. I´m so glad that it only lasted one day, I thought I was in for another ten pound weight loss like I experienced last year in Peru. While exploring the city of Sunday, Alejandro, Lisa and I ran into a pre-festival near where we live which was absolutely astonishing to watch. The formal dresses that the indigenous women wear here are absolutely stunning. They even decorate their bowlers hats for special occasions. A lovely, drunk man decided to explain to us the meaning of the dancing in the street and he told us that this was a pre-party for a bigger party on December 8th. I can´t wait.

Coming Soon: Todo sobre mi apartamento (All about my apartment)


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Festival in SopocachiFestival in Sopocachi
Festival in Sopocachi

The woman is brown is definitely having a good time... look what is in here hand :)
Festival in SopocachiFestival in Sopocachi
Festival in Sopocachi

Heck with dancing on the street... we´d rather enjoy a nice beer here in the plaza :)


Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 100; dbt: 0.1012s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb