¡Finalmente! Estoy en La Paz


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
October 18th 2006
Published: October 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Miraflores District of La PazMiraflores District of La PazMiraflores District of La Paz

Taken from the CUSO office, this is the Miraflores district of La Paz
Well, after almost a twenty-three hour flight plan, I finally made it to La Paz last Wednesday morning at 5:55am. I must say that for international airports, that the airport in El Alto (outside of La Paz) is probably the oldest one I have ever been in. From departing the plane to meeting up with the taxi driver who had come to pick me up, I think I took about 50 steps and it took about 15 minutes to go through immigration and pick up my luggage. If only the airport in Ottawa could get luggage back to its passengers so quickly 😊

The taxi ride from the airport to the apartment where I would stay for the next few days gave some spectaular views of La Paz as the international airport is at the top of what looks like a crater and the city is nestled in the crater below. I wish I may have been more awake and that I had my camera out, but I guess I´ll have to go back to that point sometime to get some shots. The apartment I was staying at for the first few days was occupied by another CUSO cooperant, Alejandro,
Miraflores District of La PazMiraflores District of La PazMiraflores District of La Paz

Another view from the CUSO office of the Miraflores District of La Paz.
who is here on a placement for two years. He only arrived a couple of days before me. Alejandro, Lisa (another CUSO cooperant who flew in to La Paz with me and that lives below Alejandro) talked for a bit and then we crashed, sleeping of a couple of hours before a taxi came to pick us up to bring us to the CUSO office. The CUSO office in Bolivia was not welcomed in a new cooperant for two years, so they seemed so interested in us. Panchito for the CUSO office took us out to exchange some money and get some glamour pictures done for our visas and temporary resident cards. They really takes their pictures seriously here! After this, we headed back towards the CUSO office where us three cooperants went to get lunch. As lunch is the main meal of the day here, it is very easy to find and very cheap. Our lunch consisited of a hard-boiled egg with a sauce for an appetizer, a bowl of soup, a main dish (which I had chicken, rice and potatoes) and a dessert. All this for 10 bolivianos! To put this into perspective, $1 Canadian is equal to
Nevado Illimani (Mount Illimani)Nevado Illimani (Mount Illimani)Nevado Illimani (Mount Illimani)

This is the view from Alejandro´s balcony. I only wish I had this view every morning.
about 7.37 bolivianos. Anyhow, after lunch we headed back to the office to talk, however, Lisa and I started to drift off in slumber land again. After leaving the office, we grabbed some groceries at a supermarket near where we live and somehow I ended up making dinner for everyone. Alejandro, Lisa and I talked until we could not talk no more and then we all hit the sack!

Some impressions and feelings from my first day in La Paz:





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

View from BalconyView from Balcony
View from Balcony

Looking up towards El Alto, the fastest growing city in Bolivia.
Interesting Rock FormationsInteresting Rock Formations
Interesting Rock Formations

From Alejandro´s balcony, besides seeing Nevado Illimani, there are also these interesting rock formations...kind of looks like we live on the moon!


30th October 2006

Good for you Patrick!
This sounds like quite and adventure. I will follow you as you go and look forward to hearing what you are going to be doing there. Oh to be young!! I am working through food demo this semester....a little boring...but has to be done. Take care and be safe. Heidi McLaren
30th October 2006

Photos
Hey Pat, Sounds like you're off to a great start. Good luck on your internship! For some reason, though, I can't see the pictures posted on this page. I'm not sure if it's just me or if there is something wrong with your formatting? Thanks and buena suerte!
31st October 2006

CUSO sounds great!
Hey Patrick! Wow! Sounds like CUSO is a great organization. I should volunteer with them someday! If I was going to volunteer, I would definatly go with CUSO. Is the website www.cuso.ca? Did I hear they have a bunch of placements open on their website? Would I go with CUSO to Latin America, Africa, Asia or the Pacific? Would I work on local economic development, environmental management, inclusive governance or HIV/AIDS projects? Sounds like your having a blast. Kristy P.S. I am not a mole. ;)
2nd November 2006

Yay,news from Patricio
Hi Pat!!!! I just finished reading your first post and I'm really glad that you're sharing your experience with us through this avenue. I like the pictures and the details too. Have a wonderful time and keep making us proud. I'm sure your Spanish will improve very quickly!!!! I went to Spain and I used a few words. It was great. Be safe, happy and healthy as always. When you come back, please make me lunch and dinner too! hehe.
7th November 2006

Hola desde Nicaragua
Me alegro que me hayas invitado a tu blog. Creo que te voy a copiar haciendo uno igualemente. Te deseo una gran experiencía llena de felicidad. Seguimos en contacto hermano!
8th November 2006

Hola!
Hola mi senorito! Glad you're having a great time. The pictures look amazing! Enjoy yourself and keep sending updates. Hasta Luego!
16th November 2006

Hi Scott, Looks like you are having a great time. My son Nigel and his girlfriend are going to South America in January for 3 months. Bolivia is one of their destinations so I've passed on your Travelblog to them as I'm sure they'll find it interesting. I'm looking forward to reading more of your adventures so keep them coming.

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb