The real Carnaval 2015


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
February 16th 2015
Published: March 7th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Ronald and I didn't know that today was the 'real' carnival or as Ronald put it 'the adult' carnival. He had headed off to Tiwanaku alone this very morning to study the museums there whilst I stayed in La Paz to finish a few tasks during the day and evening. From my hotel I could see the festival. It started at about midday, finished at 7pm and included groups from all regions from Bolivia, unlike yesterday's festival which had only included communities from the province of La Paz. Each one had its own dancers, own band, own rhythm, own costume and its own dance sequence. It was beautiful. The traffic had been cut off on the main avenue so the dancers could perform, there were chairs for the spectators (at a price so most people sat on the grass and refused to move when the police asked them to), people were watching from the bridge, and there were sellers passing by selling their own produce, everything from doughnuts and toffee apples to water for reloading water pistols to blue plastic ponchos so people could protect themselves from the few rogue kids on the loose with water pistols after the 'kids' carnival yesterday which Ronald and I had attended.

The first clue I had that it was more geared towards adults was when the red and green cucumbers starred but Peppa pig didn't follow. I was reluctant to sit down as I thought the seats were really expensive but I managed to find a great seat at a great price to stay in for 3 hours. I bought a toffee apple and sat there quite happily letting the beauty pass me by. I didn't see the whole festival as it was long and noisy, but I watched it continuously for about 3 hours and later returned to watch it in a standing position.

In the evening there were firecrackers exploding all over the town and drunks falling about in the streets after spending all day at the carnival. I could never do the carnival justice by describing it in words as I have no words for it. The closest I can come to describing the beauty and atmosphere of it are by posting photographs on this blog. Watch this space.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1019.5kb