my admiration for independence and self-sufficiency, traits of Bolivian natives


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
February 16th 2015
Published: February 23rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

I’d asked Ronald to go on to the next place so I could finish a few things off in La Paz and we could then meet up tomorrow, which he agreed to. As well as getting a few things done (things that can only be done when I have access to wifi – most of my planning requires wifi) whilst I really enjoy travelling with Ronald and enjoy his company I wanted to be alone for one day and night in this capital city to be sure I could be independent and look out for myself as I had been able to do during my trip up to now.

I would be horrified to find that I had to rely solely on anybody but myself to carry out my plans and therefore even when I have company I need to test from time to time that I can stand on my own two feet and that I am still my own person living by my own values. I really admire the street vendors here in La Paz, especially the women. The indigenous women, carry all their work in brightly coloured cloths and attach them to their backs, For me these women are the epitome of self-sufficiency and independence. They adapt their lifestyle to the earth’s resources and make the best of them, only relying on their communities and the earth's provisions. They are independent because the tribe have their own clothes, their own hats, their own language and their own religions. I would say most people in La Paz speak their indigenous language, as well as Spanish and most while following Catholicism also follow animism and preserve their old rituals in worshipping the God's of the earth or Pachimana ? To keep their own traditions and to keep going by forming a good community network, for me are both admirable traits.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1019kb