La Paz, Bolivia


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
August 5th 2011
Published: September 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

"It was a great time . I loved the pigeon place. It was so cool. I fed them and they jumped on me. One pecked my tooth. I went there a bunch of times. The hotel was very nice. A woman there kept giving me candy and chocolate each time I came back. The show was super freaky and scary because there was a lot of masks that were very freaky. I loved their food. We bought some hats for us and friends and instruments for my band" - Sofia.

FROM THIS POINT ON IN SOFIA'S TRAVEL BLOG EVERYTHING IN QUOTES FOR PICS AND QUOTES/ FOR TEXT COMES STRAIGHT FROM SOFIA.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

It was time for another summer trip, and while this one was not to be as long as previous summer trips, I had been looking forward to it for a long time. 2 1/2 weeks in Bolivia and Peru. Daddy had never been to Bolivia before. He had been to Peru 14 years ago and he liked Cusco and Machu Picchu so much that he decided that being in Bolivia we were so close that I should see it.

Another great thing about this trip is that
Salt Flats and Machu PicchuSalt Flats and Machu PicchuSalt Flats and Machu Picchu

My favorite 2 places on this trip
Daddy's friend Jen was going to travel with us for most of the trip. Jen is a good friend of Daddy who lives in Honduras. I had visited her there a few years ago (where I got kissed by a dolphin.) And she comes to Miami every few months. Daddy travelled with her for almost 6 months after graduating college and they went to Brasil, Venezuela, and Costa Rica. It was what made my daddy addicted to travelling, so I am glad he went. She is like and aunt to me and I was so happy that she was going to be with us.

After an overnight flight, we arrived in Santa Cruz and then short 1 hour flight to La Paz. We made it, but unfortunately, 2 out of the 3 bags did not. Not the first time. We took a taxi to our hotel. Luckily daddy had a change of clothes for me and our bags did arrive later that afternoon. I loved our hotel and the family who owned it liked me a lot. It was right by the "witches market" where they sold all sorts of stuff, including alpaca fetuses. We used this hotel as
PigeonsPigeonsPigeons

Plaza Murillo
our base and we returned 3 other times.
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Because La Paz is very high in the sky, we took medications to help us and diamox became the first pill I every swallowed whole. I was so happy that I did it.. We both did not get sick due to the altitude, though daddy got tired easily, especially if he was carrying me.

My favorite place in La Paz was the plaza with all the pigeons (Plaza Murillo). I had so much fun feeding them and letting them land on me, that I came back here 2 other times. One time a pigeon decided to peck my tooth and daddy caught it on video. It was pretty funny, well at least to him.

My other favorite thing we did in La Paz was go to a show (Pena). They wore crazy "freaky" costumes and I loved the dancing. We had great seats. Daddy was not that impressed with La Paz, but the pigeon plaza was enough to make it a pretty cool place for me. __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

"wow, so many pigeons""wow, so many pigeons"
"wow, so many pigeons"

I liked it so much that we came here on 3 different days!
"Beautiful Flowers""Beautiful Flowers"
"Beautiful Flowers"

Hostal Posada de la Abuela
"My Biggest Bubble""My Biggest Bubble"
"My Biggest Bubble"

Bus from Copacabana to La Paz
"Our Hotel is the Best""Our Hotel is the Best"
"Our Hotel is the Best"

Hostal Posada de La Abuela
"Yummy, Yummy Food""Yummy, Yummy Food"
"Yummy, Yummy Food"

1st night Sol y Luna....What a meal.
Loved the PigeonsLoved the Pigeons
Loved the Pigeons

Plaza Murillo
"Cool Bar""Cool Bar"
"Cool Bar"

Sol y Luna restaurant
Hanging out at the BarHanging out at the Bar
Hanging out at the Bar

Sol y Luna Restaurant, La Paz
Great SeatsGreat Seats
Great Seats

Pena Huari
"I am an angel""I am an angel"
"I am an angel"

Plaza Murillo
Plaza MurilloPlaza Murillo
Plaza Murillo

me and my pigeon friends
Follow Me DaddyFollow Me Daddy
Follow Me Daddy

Plaza Murillo


3rd September 2011

inspirational
Hi Sofia and Dad, I have followed your travels for a while now, and you are inspirational. This summer (our summer, december) my wife, myself and two children, both 9 years old (twins) are going off to Laos and Northern Thailand to explore and discover - and may i say that you give us the courage to do so. Could i ask a bit of advice from seasoned travellers such as yourselves - malaria, - according to the travel guides it is where we are going. But anti malarials are such a nuisance to take for adults and I couldn't imagine what it would be like with kids. So Sofia, did you ever take anti malarial medicine, and dad, would you recommend it?
3rd September 2011

Nice to read your new adventures!
Happy to see both of you back on the road...love to follow yoursteps. We are coming to see you in December 2012....we'll make sure this time itwon't be a too short stop!
5th September 2011

15 months
Look forward to seeing you in Miami....in 15 months. Definitely have a place to stay and look forward to getting the kids together.
27th September 2011

Yeah, we're back!
We're back and it's great to read your adventures, we had such a brilliant time in Mexico it's been a bit hard to adjust back to life in Europe, but I have not dispaired and I will get round to writing it up! In the mean time I shall read your adventures, Sofia, always great to see. We thought of you as we flew via Miami to Cancun!!! Last year too, maybe one of these days we'll have to stop in Miami!!!
28th September 2011

glad you had a great time in Mexico and let me know next time when you are in miami
7th November 2011

This has been one of my favourite blogs to follow since I first came across it. Seeing the progression to Sofia's direct input to the entries just makes it even more special :-)

Tot: 0.374s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 29; qc: 127; dbt: 0.1317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb