Adios Peru, Hola Bolivia!


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » Copacabana
November 8th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Since Machu Picchu, alot has occured, more than can possibly be documented, but I will try my darndest.
After returning to Cuzco I had a few lovely days of wandering that beautiful city, getting propositioned by the painting sellers, indulging in all you can eat Indian buffet and multiple comfort meals from Jacks Cafe and having one or two or many drinks with my Machu Picchu buddies at Paddys Irish Bar (the highest Irish bar in the world!) One night, after some liquid energy from Paddys, we found ourselves traversing the town. Spruikers from every club run at you on the street with handfuls of free drink cards and many coersive promises of good times. Thus we found ourselves wandering from one to the next and barely paying for a drink! We indulged in McDonalds (with pump tomato sauce, heaven) alot of which I shared with the hungry bouncers outside a club. We started playing soccer with two little street vendor children using a plastic water bottle in the main square. It would have been quite a sight, with about 7 or 8 drunken adults squealing and chasing two little children and a water bottle around! It was only once they left that we realised they had pick pocketed one of us. It made us really sad for these two little kids who couldn't have been more than 11, although eventually he found the kids again and bribed them to show him where his wallet was, cards and all! When we had all said fond farewells (alot of us were leaving the next day) it was turning into daylight. Needless to say, the next day involved sleeping alot and a big fry up from Jacks Cafe. Whilst feeling very sorry for myself I saw a familiar face pass by the doorway. I ran outside and was suddenly hugging my lovely volunteer friend from Ecuador, Claire! Her and her friend Maeg had only a few days in Cuzco after doing Machu Picchu. We spent the afternoon catching up, exchanging tales and eating and drinking. After dinner I bid a fond farewell to them and wrangled a taxi to the bus station. Before I knew it I was on my way to Puno, right on the border!

I had intended on catching a direct connection to Copacabana on the Bolivian side of the border, but I arrived at 5am and my weary bones cried at the prospect of three hours wait for the connecting bus. Thus I checked into a run down hostel and spent the day sleeping, eating pancakes and sitting in the sun in the small main plaza. Nothing much occured in the evening except for a ferocious hail storm and a waiter who liked to head bang to Alanis Morissette. In the morning I was on yet another bus, this time crossing the border into Bolivia: adios Peru!
The border crossing was very uneventful, the officials were not very concerned with security, only with saying everyones name very loudly followed by something specific from their country (Katerine, Boxing kangaroo, boxing kangaroo!)
Copacabana is a tiny little town, situated on the sparkling shores of Lake Titicaca, which stretches out magnificently and endlessly like a tranquil ocean. Here I met up with Ian, my friend from Machu Picchu trek and a few of his friends. We spent a lovely night eating alot and sharing a few cocktails and in the morning jumped on a boat to Isla del Sol (Island of Sun). The boat ride was long and slow, but beautiful, bobbing slowly on that deep blue water. The island is tall and dry and empty. There are a few tiny little settlements along the edges, but given the spectacular setting there is practically nothing. Only some women in that intriuging Cholita dress and lots of pigs. We decided to forgoe the organised tour and beat our own path, which was surprisingly simple. The island is sunny (as the name would suggest) but really brisk. It seems contradictory; you walk along this bright shiny island surrounded by what looks like the ocean, but with snow covered mountains at equal height on the horizon. Every view is just stunning. At quite an altitude, the walk wasn't always very easy, but it was beautiful and we made it to the other end right on time for the boat home. The ride home was tranquil and relaxing, with out feet dangling over the glistening water, a quick visit to a little floating island/house and back in time for an early dinner and beer.
The next day we all hopped on a bus to La Paz. I had multiple stories of debauchery, chaos and great times ringing in my ears from many travellers I had encountered, and was very excited to get there and discover what the capital had in store for me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb