Isla del sol: well put


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » Copacabana
January 12th 2008
Published: January 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Campsite number oneCampsite number oneCampsite number one

Decided to move on
This is a retrospective entry for the last few days before taking off to Indonesia a month ago...

12-6-07: The best sunset of my life to date. I took a shuttle boat from Copacobana to the Isla del Sol on Lago Titicaca, which in addition to bringing back to the elementary school playground days name is a magical place. I got to the lake at 0930 and packed my stuff to the most distant corner of the island, and stumbled upon a beach hidden from the hills above by an overhanging cliff. There I found what could only be described as a fairy tale beach: ornate multicolored pebbles and geometric base rock, the greenest algae, the ripest fruit (I brought this), hundreds of titicaca terns (that´s what I call them anyway), some migratory ducks, an electric sky that seemed to burn forever, me, and my bivy sack.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Carving or Geo?Carving or Geo?
Carving or Geo?

Found this in a layer of rock jutting out into the lake
Colorful rocksColorful rocks
Colorful rocks

I wanted to bring about a hundred home but having hauled 20kg of firewood over the hill I decided against it.
My rockMy rock
My rock

Spent several hours here...


Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb